For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Mary Katelin W.

Education

North Little Rock High School,

Childcare Experience

Nanny
New York, NY, 04/14 - 07/15
Boy and girl, ages 3 and 1 month

Part-time Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/13 - 03/14
Two boys and One girl, ages 9, 5 and 1

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/14 - 04/14
Girl, age 4

Professional Experience

Actor at the Arkansas Repertory Theatre
Little Rock, AR, 06/15 - 07/15

Hostess
New York, NY, 04/14 - 09/14

Sales Associate
Little Rock, AR, 08/12 - 07/13

About me

My name is Mary Katelin, but most everyone calls me MK!

I am originally from Little Rock, Arkansas, but happily considered myself a "New Yorker". I moved to New York to pursue a career in acting, and since that time I have been lucky to also expand my love of working with children while within the city.

I come from a long line of Montessori teachers, so you might say my love of children runs in the family. My mom, aunt, and grandma are all teachers at the same Montessori school back in Arkansas, which is pretty neat if you ask me. Their influence has definitely impacted my childcare philosophy and I try my best to bring as much of the Montessori method into my day-to-day routines with children as I can. I enjoy learning how to guide each child's desire to explore and learn, and to really help them be the best them they can be!

I love working with children because it gives me the opportunity to play. I have been in the theatre since I was six years old, and using my imagination is very important to me and working with children gives me the opportunity to do that on a daily basis. I am very high energy and spunky, which is why I find it easy for me to connect with children. Although I enjoy approaching my childcare philosophy in a fun and active way, I am very task oriented, great at multitasking, and I am very dependable. I find it very important to find structure in the day to day life, while still leaving enough space for fun and creativity to bloom.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not babysitting you can probably find me in my kitchen baking. I have a major passion for all things sweet, and I enjoy making up recipes and seeing what flavors mix. Other than my kitchen, you can find me in dance classes or acting classes around the city, in coffee shops reading, or on the weekends you'll find me at a flea market!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

An established actor within the city with the flexibility to pursue other passions as well!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I LOVE teaching children how to bake. It is one of my very favorite activities to do after school or for a special occasion. Not only do you get a delicious treat as an end result, but it also teaches them to follow instructions and patience. I also really enjoy infusing my love of dancing and singing into their daily life, whether it be having random dance parties or just singing along to the radio while doing homework. I find it very important to continuously inspire their creative side as much as possible.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.