For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Con B.

Education

McMaster University,
MA in Gender Studies and Feminist Research

Metropolitan State University of Denver,
BA in Women's Studies
Minor in Human Performance and Sport

Childcare Experience

Full-Time Nanny and Household Manager
Carroll Gardens, Brooklyn, NY, 09/15 - 08/18
Two children, ages 1 and 5.

Full-Time Nanny
SoHo, Manhattan, NY, 09/16 - 05/17
Three children, ages 1, 3, and 5

Full-Time Nanny for Nanny Share
Denver, CO, 01/13 - 08/13
Two children, ages 3 months

Professional Experience

Coach - Girls on the Run
Denver, CO, 09/11 - 05/12

Coach - Riverside Soccer
Denver, CO, 08/11 - 05/12

About me

I am an extroverted introvert who values creativity, open communication, honesty, and humor! Over the last 15+ years I have worked with children between infancy to teenagers as a nanny, babysitter, coach, tutor, and camp counselor. I absolutely love working with children, fostering their growth and development, and providing holistic support to the families for whom I provide care. I am highly organized, punctual, excellent at anticipating needs, proactive, intelligent, resourceful, engaging, creative, attentive, communicative, responsible, compassionate, and driven.

I love working with children because they remind me to be curious and investigative, to be silly, empathetic, and vulnerable. Caregiving has taught me about the reciprocal nature of care, how to listen to children, the importance of emotional validation, how to create and uphold boundaries, how to be vulnerable and playful, and endless teachings on patience, love, empathy, consistency, and consideration. Working with children as a caregiver, role model, and best friend has undoubtedly shaped the person I am today, as I have grown insurmountably in helping to foster the growth of every little life of which I've been so lucky to be a part.

I hold a Masters Degree in Gender Studies and Feminist Research and a bachelors degree in Women's Studies with a minor in Human Performance and Sport. Relevant child-related coursework includes Child Development and Emergency Care and First Aid Training. Additionally, I passed the teaching certification Praxis Core Academic Skills For Educators (CASE) Exams: 
Reading, Writing, Math with near perfect scores, as well as the Praxis II Early Childhood Content Knowledge Exam.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not caring for kiddos, I'm outside as much as possible, reading feverishly, growing vegetables, spending time with family and friends, biking around town, playing soccer, experimenting in the kitchen, going on weekend getaways, swimming, camping, and seeing live music.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years I hope to still be working with children and supporting families in a multitude of ways in raising socially conscious, empathetic, funny, and rad kiddos!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to garden with children, teaching them how food is produced and all of the labor that goes into what ends up in our stomachs. I really enjoy cooking healthy, vegan/vegetarian meals together. I also love teaching soccer skills to kids whether it's showing a two year old how to kick a cone down with a ball or honing foot skills with a 10-year-old. Other activities I enjoy doing with children across a broad age range include reading books, writing and illustrating our own stories, riding bikes, swimming, art projects, singing obnoxiously to our favorite songs, and being goofy together. With infants, I love wiggling around on our tummies, taking walks and talking about everything we see around us, going to story time, music and yoga classes, finger painting, and making silly faces to hear those infectious baby giggles.


© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.