For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Devan K.

Education

Hobart and William Smith Colleges,
B.S. in Psychology
Childhood Education Certification

Childcare Experience

Part-time Nanny
Skaneateles, NY, 06/14 - 06/15
Three girls, ages 12, 15, and 18

Part-time Nanny
Skaneateles, NY, 09/13 - 06/15
Six children, ages 10, 12, 14, 15, and 17

Part-time Nanny
Skaneateles, NY, 03/13 - 03/15
Five children, ages 5, 10, 12, 14, and 16

Professional Experience

Substitute Teacher
Skaneateles, NY, 09/12 - 06/15

High School Girls and Boys Soccer Coach
Skaneateles, NY, 08/12 - 07/15

Arsenal Academy Club Soccer Coach
Marcellus, NY, 10/12 - 07/15

Camp Soccer Coach
Marcellus, NY, 05/11 - 07/15

Camp Counselor
Skaneateles, NY, 05/06 - 08/11

About me

I am a recent college graduate with over ten years of experience working with children. When I was eight years old I started taking care of my baby sister and have watched over kids ever since. As the oldest of four, being with children and taking care of them has come naturally to me. I have always known that I wanted a career around kids and since my first job as a camp counselor I have stayed true to that. I now have my Childhood Education Certification and hundreds of hours spent in Elementary school classrooms. I have childcare experience with all ages ranging from infants to teenagers. I have the most experience with school age children from substitute teaching and coaching soccer.

Playing soccer in college taught me time management and teamwork, as well as the importance of hard work. I love the sport and have been coaching it for the past five years. I have coached children from age 3 all the way through high school boys and girls. In addition to being passionate about soccer, I love playing sports whenever I can. Volleyball, golf, and snowboarding are some that I really enjoy and try to do as often as possible. I also love reading. Fiction novels about mysteries, love, and teen dystopia worlds keep me engrossed whenever I pick them up. Hanging out with family and friends at the beach or lake are some of my favorite times. I thoroughly enjoy running around with all my little cousins and playing games or swimming with them. I love children and working with them truly gives me the greatest feeling of fulfillment.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins

I will be SmartSitting while...

I love to read and be active playing soccer or running. I also like to cook so I experiment with different things. Additionally I enjoy traveling. Though I don't get to often, I take the opportunity when I can because I love exploring new places. My family is very important to me so I speak with them often and see them when it's possible. I really like exploring NYC and when I'm not working I am trying to find and do new things in the city that never sleeps.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I hope to have my Masters degree or be in the process of obtaining it in 5 years. I have recently decided to move from teaching to guidance counseling and that is what I will be studying.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to read with children. Whether I'm reading to them or they're reading with me, it is so rewarding when kids are captivated by a book. I also love to share my passion of sports. Keeping kids active is extremely important, so playing a sport or just going to a park or playground gets them interested and allows them to exercise while having fun.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.