For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kaleigh M.

Education

University of Massachusetts at Amherst,
B.A. Journalism
English

New York University,
M.Ed School Counseling and Guidance

Childcare Experience

Teacher
Milford, MA, 08/10 - 06/15
Grade 7

After-School Babysitter
Upton, MA, 02/13 - 06/15
Boy age 11, girl age 7

After-Scool Babysitter
Upton, MA, 02/11 - 01/12
Boy age 11, girl age 7

Professional Experience

Teacher
Milford, MA, 08/10 - 06/15

About me

I have been working directly with children for the past 10 years. Most recently, I was employed as a full-time, fully certified English Language Arts teacher in a Massachusetts public school. I left my full-time teaching position at the end of the school year to attend graduate school at NYU. The decision to leave teaching was the most difficult of my life; my passion for youth and education has never wavered but I felt my strengths and interests began to pull me in a different direction.

This fall I will be studying at NYU’s Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development, working towards an advanced degree in School Counseling and Guidance. My passion has always been education and working with children and an advanced degree will lead me to my dream job as a school counselor.

In addition to my five years in the classroom I have worked consistently as a summer nanny, and full-time after-school sitter for several families in Massachusetts. As a childcare provider I pride myself on the ability to provide educational assistance as well as all other responsibilities given to me. I am an advocate for educational play and learning through experience. I am always on the lookout for teachable moments! Organization is definitely my strong suit; in my previous after-school childcare jobs I implemented a schedule that allowed time for school work, healthy snacks, supervised play and quick changes for after-school sports and activities. The after-school juggling act is something I have worked hard to master.

As well as after-school schedules, homework and organizing I am a huge fan of sports and fitness. I love to spend time outdoors and share my passions with the children in my care.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Splitting my time between studying and enjoying the outdoors. I have always been active; I'm a former high school and college athlete, a long distance runner, amateur yogini and recently converted Crossfitter. I also love to read (real books with pages!) and I am always looking for a new spot to sprawl out with a good book. I love to spend time with friends and family and moving to a new city I value time with those closest to me even more. I've recently taken up cooking and surprisingly I am pretty good! I love trying new recipes and adding new foods to my repertoire.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A successful guidance counselor! After graduate school I hope to find a job in school counseling. I would love to work in a high school preparing students for the college experience and helping them navigate their formative years. It was difficult to leave my students in Massachusetts; I have never felt more connected or more proud to be doing a job that genuinely makes an impact on children. I am excited for the future and hope that I will continue to feel as passionate about youth and education as I do now.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Anything sports or fitness! I also love to read and with my background in education I am always on the lookout for moments to talk to children about what they've read. I am always willing to check and double check homework and help with school projects in any way I can.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.