For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Alexandra Y.

Education

The New School,
B.A., Psychology

Columbia University,
Ed.M., Counseling Psychology (in progress)

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 05/13 - 07/15
Boy, age 10

Weekend Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/15 - 08/15
Girl 2, Boy 5

After-School Babysitter
Newton, MA, 09/10 - 08/13
Boy 5, Girl 7

Professional Experience

Administrative Assistant
New York, NY, 06/15 - 08/15

Server
New York, NY, 05/13 - 09/13

About me

I recently graduated from The New School with a degree in Psychology. I love children and engaging them in imaginative and creative play, as well as arts and crafts and various outings in the city.

I have always been a creative person by nature and a consumer of art. I went to The New School so that I could advance myself academically and intellectually through their rigorous programs, but also so that I could root myself in an artistic and creative culture in the city. Prior to moving to the city, I developed a program at an alternative high school in my hometown (Boston, MA) that focused on the importance (if not the essentialism) of self-expression in a supportive environment. I will bring these ideals with me to my childcare position.

I have about six years of childcare experience and I am hoping to find the right family to work for full time. I believe deeply in being present and active with children so as to support them in their development.

I am outgoing and always ready for a day out trying a new restaurant or museum hopping in Chelsea, or a night in with some ginger tea and the previous week's New Yorker. I hope to apply my academic research interests (empathy, expressive art therapy, and social and emotional learning and behavior) towards the children I will be taking care of.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers

I will be SmartSitting while...

Catching a movie at IFC or Film forum! I am also always trying to eat at new restaurants or attend various live performance art. Walking through Greenwich Village with my boyfriend and grabbing some ice cream or a fresh coffee (preferably a peanut butter latte!).

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A school psychologist, either at a public or private school in the city, but one that is committed to progressivism and ethics. Ideally I would love to blend my academic skills in college readiness/applications as well as psychological counseling, and cultivating social and emotional skills.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Arts and crafts, empathy, compassion, reading, watching movies together as a bonding/social experience, exploring the many parks in New York, museums, yoga, creative classes (robot making or sewing!) historical sights, cooking (again, as a bonding and social experience) and cooking healthy food at that!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.