For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Margaret M.

Education

Goucher College,
M.F.A. in Nonfiction Writing

Harvard Divinity School,
Master of Theological Studies

Skidmore College,
BA in English and Religion

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 10/15 - 06/17
Boy, age 5 at start; Girl, age 3 at start.

Nanny
Cambridge, MA, 03/14 - Present
1 girl, 4 months at start

Babysitter
Cambridge, MA, 07/13 - 12/13
One girl, 3 months at start

After-School Babysitter
Cambridge, MA, 07/13 - 09/13
One girl, age 6; one boy, age 2

Daytime Babysitter
Saratoga Springs, NY, 05/12 - 05/13
One boy, age 2; one girl, age 6 months at start

Date-night and Occasional Babysitter
Saratoga Springs, NY, 06/12 - 05/13
Two boys, ages 3 and 5

Camp Counselor
Freeport, ME, 06/11 - 08/11
Grades k-5

Professional Experience

Faculty/Research Assistant
Saratoga Springs, NY, 09/10 - 05/13

Thrift Shop Assistant Manager
Freeport, ME, 03/10 - 08/10

About me

I've been babysitting and nannying for the last 14 years. I began watching children the minute anyone would let me, and that interest only grew. I spent my high school weekends babysitting for multiple families and my summers nannying. I even wrote my college essay about my childcare experience! I'm honored to have been let in to so many homes and lives, and some of my most meaningful interactions have been with children and the parents who employ me.

I love spending time with children, and especially am gratified to watch infants grow in the first few years of their lives. In addition, I have experience with toddlers, school-aged children, and tweens. I find that I can usually connect with any age group, especially through books!

In college, I studied English and Religion, and went on to get a Master's degree in Religion, Ethics, and Politics. I did this mostly because I love to read and think about important and big ideas! Now I'm getting an MFA in nonfiction writing, and working on a book about suffrage in 1910! When I'm writing, I like to read, go on walks, and cook (I'm a vegan, but love to cook all types of food!).

These things--reading, playing outside, and cooking--are things I love to share with the children I care for. Despite my poor singing voice, I'm always up for a song! I also really believe in letting children lead our activities (beyond scheduled things like meals and naps and safety issues)--and I respect kids enough to let them figure out what they love, and I'm happy to go on that ride with them! To that end, I think very highly of Montessori and Reggio Emilia schools of thought about childcare.

I'm a kind, caring, and mature person with just the right amount of humor, fun, and silliness. I take my job and the children I care for very seriously, and bring respect and joy to the homes I work in.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers

I will be SmartSitting while...

Reading or writing. I'm a voracious reader and care a lot about the media I consume! I also enjoy settling down with a good TV show now and then.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

working on a book (if I'm really lucky, this will be my second book!).

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to spend time reading, talking, and singing with children. I encourage creativity with older kids and encourage sensory play in younger children. I'm all about exploring the world around us!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.