For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Laurel S.

Education

High School,
Regents Diploma

Childcare Experience

Part-time Nanny
New York, NY, 01/14 - 09/15
One boy, age 22 months

Part-time Nanny
Garden City, NY, 01/13 - 09/15
One Boy, age 13

Teaching Assistant
Lake Katrine, NY, 01/13 - 11/13
Kids, ages 6 weeks to 6

Part-time Nanny
Ulster, NY, 01/08 - 01/11
One girl, age 14

Professional Experience

Part-time Nanny
New York, NY, 01/14 - 09/15

Server
Astoria, NY, 01/14 - 09/15

Part-time Nanny
Garden City, NY, 01/13 - 09/15

Teaching Assistant
Lake Katrine, NY, 01/13 - 11/13

Part-time Nanny
Kingston, NY, 01/08 - 01/11

About me

I grew up in a small town in upstate New York. With a population of less than 300, I spent a lot of time in the outdoors learning through nature. I absolutely loved reading under the trees in the summers, and counting icicles hanging off the roof in the winters. It was in this small town that I began my career in childcare. Starting at 14, I began to watch neighborhood kids and formed an after school homework help group for the younger classes. Now, in New York City, I keep my same small town values, and apply them to my work in the big city.

I try to teach the kids I work with the morals that I grew up with. These include: honesty, hard work, and kindness. Children are our future, and I work for a future with kind, loving people. I've found that children learn a lot by watching those around them, so I always try to be the best example possible. I use reading and creativity exercises to let children explore their imaginations, and use them to learn lessons on their own, with a little guidance. In my every day activities with the kids, I try to teach them something they didn't know beforehand. Whether that be how plants grow, how to cross streets safely, or even how to say something new in Spanish. I don't think the day is over until a child has learned something new.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Reading or biking in Central Park, or hiking upstate while visiting family.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Still living in New York City, and preferably working with children in a medical field.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to read with children, and do coloring activities. I love watching children bring their imagination to life through drawing and other creative activities.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.