For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kendra C.

Education

Rutgers University,
BFA in Acting

Childcare Experience

Part-time Babysitter
New York, NY, 12/14 - Present
Two girls, ages 3 and 5

Part -time Babysitter
New York, NY, 06/15 - 09/15
One girl, age 4

Part-time Babysitter
Montclair, NJ, 10/13 - Present
One boy, age 4

Part -time Babysitter
Montclair, NJ, 05/01 - 09/15
One boy, age 14

Theater Teacher
London, UK, 02/12 - 05/12
Primary School Students, ages 10-11

Le Nanny at Le parc Place
Montclair, NJ, 06/12 - 09/13
Boys & Girls, ages 1-13

Specialist Director at YMCA New Discoveries Camp
Montclair, NJ, 06/09 - 09/10
Ages 3-10

Professional Experience

Company Manager for 'Celebrity Autobiography'
New York, NY, 12/13 - Present

Server at Triad Theater
New York, NY, 10/13 - Present

About me

I grew up in a diverse community, on a great block in Montclair New Jersey. We were fortunate to live in a safe community that allowed us to play outside and use our imaginations. The group of kids that were part of my daily play was like a tribe and I always looked out for the youngest members. Taking on this role helped me to discover my natural childcare talents which led me to my first job as a mother’s helper at age eleven. I quickly became a popular babysitter in my neighborhood and continued babysitting for families throughout high school.

The families and children that I worked for have shared with me that I have a reputation for being "a great babysitter" and educator. I believe this is because when you're doing something you love, children know it. Not only do I have an extensive experience in childcare and education, but I also have worked with a diverse clientele in professional settings and private homes. I find great pleasure in being in the presence of children. They have a purity and light that I tap into that allows our time together to generally be a positive and fun-loving experience.

Over the years I worked in several jobs that involved kids such as being a specialist director at a YMCA summer camp for two summers, working as a “ Le Nanny” at the nanny center Le Parc Place, teaching Shakespeare to students at a Primary School in London and assistant directing. None of which could have happened successfully without my upbringing. I grew up in a warm, creative home, constantly exposed to art, culture, education, and the great outdoors. I try to interweave these invaluable experiences into my childcare relationships with children. Most importantly, I believe my strongest attribute is my patience and ability to connect with any child. I discovered I had this ability when I worked as a “ Le Nanny”, and had to take on the challenging task of being paired with multiple babies, toddlers, and children each day.

I truly love working with children and more times than not it doesn’t feel like work at all. Graduating from a demanding arts conservatory program and taking classes in improvisation has given me tools to open up children to creative play and learning.

When I am not working or acting, I can be found running by the Hudson River or through Central Park. I love supporting my artistic friends in their performances sprinkled around the city and meeting old friends from Montclair. I love cooking and rifling through books and magazines at any bookstore, exploring vintage shops and going to museums and films.

While I pursue a career in the performing arts, I hope to cultivate relationships with families that find me a good fit for their children. I look forward to discovering these relationships through SmartSitting and look forward to meeting more NYC families.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Jogging down by the Hudson River, going to comedy shows, writing, taking yoga classes, teaching myself how to cook a new recipe, browsing bookstores and old vintage shops, listening to music while strolling through the city, going to museums, theater, and films. I always try to spend time with my friends and family too.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Acting full-time. I hope to be able to collaborate with other artists and create my own work in some capacity. I’m very drawn to sketch comedy and can see myself working in that field. I would also be open to working for a children’s or travel network.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Since I have a background in the performing arts, I like to share my theatrical skills and love of the arts in the activities I do with the children I sit for. I love writing short stories or skits with the children, developing interesting dance pieces, delving into arts and crafts while listening to music, discovering recipes and cooking or even taking the kids on cultural trips. I also appreciate the great outdoors and encourage children to drop their computers in exchange for fun, outdoor play.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.