For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Tracy S.

Education

Point Park University,
B.A. in Dance

Walden University,
M.S. in Education-Curriculum, Instr. & Assess...

Childcare Experience

Part-time Tutor/Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 11/15 - 05/17
Two girls, ages 7 and 10

Full-Time Teacher-NYCDOE Licensed Dance Specialist
Brooklyn, NY, 09/01 - Present
Classes, grades Pre-K through 5

Full-Time Teacher-NYCDOE Licensed Dance Specialist
Brooklyn, NY, 09/01 - Present
Classes, grades Pre-K through 5

Doula >> Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 03/00 - 08/01
One girl, newborn - 1.5

Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 04/98 - 12/99
One girl, 8 months - age 2

Doula >> Nanny
Brooklyn/ Montclair, NY/NJ, 04/95 - 03/98
One girl, newborn- age 3

Professional Experience

NYCDOE Licensed Teacher [Dance]
Brooklyn, , 09/01 - 11/15

Full -Time Teacher/NYCDOE Dance Specialist
Brooklyn, NY, 09/01 - Present

About me

I have always embraced my inner child. This is a quality that my mother emulated and inevitably passed on to me. Hence, the child within me grows attached to those of a like mind and/or spirit. Once I learned that I was pregnant with my first and only child I immediately felt a newfound and overwhelming love. I know that if I feel such tremendous love for my own son that I can share this kind of love with others, especially children. My experiences as a Postpartum Doula caused this love for children and their families to continuously grow. As I was learning and growing as a new mother I also began working in childcare. I would apply the same love and care I wholeheartedly gave to my son to the little ones I was caring for and their families. I believe that anyone working in childcare or the teaching industry should embrace and tend to the 'whole' child. As I continued to grow as a parent and childcare specialist my dreams began to shift. Noticing this in myself along with my desire to provide safety,security, and stability for my son, I ventured into the world of teaching. I quickly realized that ALL children are gifted in some form. I thought to myself, "The human experience begins here in this place; in childhood!'.

Most of my work in childcare and as a Doula was with newborn through toddler-age children. During my fifteen years of teaching I taught mostly Early Childhood through fifth grade.

I also love Dance! For me dance is life, as is music. I embrace and advocate for The Arts in general. In my mind if every child was exposed to the arts along with learning the cultural and community contributions of the arts the world would grow into a more peaceful place. I enjoy the outdoors and digging in the dirt. I keep a mini garden on my sweet, little terrace. I have a quite diverse trunk full of interests and hobbies, such as drawing, poetry writing, outdoor exploration, health and fitness, wellness and healing.

I am a deeply Spiritual person and I am full with love to share. I am extremely maternal by instinct. I am somewhat an "A" type. I like for pretty much all things to be in some type of order and organized. I also am very pampering by nature. I love to pamper myself! I also know by giving to myself I increase my ability to give to others.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Taking a dance or yoga class, working out, reading, drawing, working on mastering whatever it is I have taken on in life (including Teaching and Childcare), enjoying the outdoors, spending time with family and/or friends [usually doing one or more of the above], supporting my son's gift in music.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Settled in to practicing Reiki and running my own Wellness Center (which will include providing/offering childcare and classes for children and families).

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to teach in all areas through hands-on learning. Project-based teaching and learning is one of my favorite approaches. I enjoy arts and crafts. I enjoy teaching the basics of home economics [cooking, cleaning, fixing, mending] once a child has developed to a stage in which he/she is able to grasp doing things of that likeness. I enjoy arranging playdates and venturing outdoors and going to classes [Music Together, Baby Gym, etc.]. I of course love to dance and sing with children and grown-ups. It brings joy to the soul! I also feel it is important to implement some form of character education and strategies for problem-solving/conflict resolution. I believe that most things should be agreed upon and/or organized with the parents.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.