How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Frederica L.

Education

Asbury University,
B.S. in Secondary English Education
Middle School Endorsement Grades 5-9 Language Arts

Childcare Experience

Temp Babysitter
NY, NY, 09/15 - Present
Multiples, Infant to 12 years

Part-Time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 09/17 - 06/19
Two girls, age 4 and 2

After School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 10/15 - 06/17
Two boys, age 5 and 10

Nanny Part-Time
Wilmore, KY, 08/09 - 08/15
3 Boys, Ages 6 months to 12 years

Babysitter Part-Time
Wilmore, KY, 10/14 - 07/15
3 Girls, 2 Boys, Ages 4, 7, 8, 10, 12

Babysitter Part-Time
Wilmore, KY, 10/13 - 07/15
1 Boy, 1 Girl, Ages 6 and 8

Babysitter/Mother's Helper Part-Time
Wilmore, KY, 06/14 - 08/14
Twin Girls, 1 boy, ages 6 months and 1

Professional Experience

Theater and Dance Maker
Brooklyn, NY, 09/15 - Present

Teaching Artist, New York City Ballet
NYC, NY, 09/15 - Present

Co-Teacher Musical Theater
Brooklyn, NY, 10/15 - Present

Private Tutor
New York City, NY, Lexington, KY, 06/10 - Present

Dance and Wellness Teacher
Lexington, KY, 10/13 - 07/15

Dance Instructor
Lexington, Wilmore, and Winchester, KY, 01/10 - 07/15

Dance Faculty, Grades 3-8, SCAPA Bluegrass
Lexington, KY, 01/13 - 06/15

Assistant Stage Manager and Stage Manager
Lexington, KY, 03/14 - 05/15

About me

The oldest of 4 siblings, I grew up both in Kentucky and on St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. My love of organizing creative adventures and fun games for my younger siblings led us to building forts under trees, hosting neighborhood Olympics, and making amateur movies (complete with commercials) that my siblings and I still laugh at to this day. My mom recalls how I would insert myself into our daily homeschooling routine asking to help teach my younger siblings. These early experiences paved the way for my career as an educator and care-giver, leading me to pursue my Bachelor's in English Education (Grades 5-12) with a minor in Theater.

Growing up, school was fun. My own early education impacted my love of discovery and learning. These included a Pre-K Montessori School on the island of St. Croix in the U.S. Virgin Islands, a public Elementary School in Kentucky, and homeschooling with my parents and siblings from 4th grade through 12 grade. During our time homeschooling, we did a lot of traveling, and we embedded our learning with the history and culture of each new location.

Before moving to NYC, I was part of the Dance and Theater Faculty at the School for the Creative and Performing Arts Bluegrass in Lexington, Kentucky where I worked with 4th-8th Graders while also working as a part-time nanny for 3 children. In 2015, I took a job with the New York City Ballet in their Education Department as a Teaching Artist. For the past 5 years, I have gotten to partner with public Elementary School teachers and paraprofessionals to design and implement a dance residency that explores Literacy and Ballet. I leave a part of my heart in every school. Saying good-bye after our 8 week residency is always bitter sweet.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

dancing! During Covid-19, I have started working with i-Movie to provide at home dance classes, dance parties, and experimental Dance Theater videos for my friends and family. I am also a member of a Theater collective based in the LES of Manhattan called WOW Cafe Theater. We have a weekly meeting and create new works as we look to keep Theater alive in other ways... we are experimenting with live Zoom performances, recorded material, and virtual collaborations.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

building an off-grid home near the beach, creating an intergenerational Dance Theater company, and continuing my life long work as an anti-racist and community organizer. I also hope to be a published author by then... whether that is some short of fiction, poetry, or a dance-math-neuroscience curriculum.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

As a movement and dance teacher, I can teach you endless games and movement activities that help engage our bodies in the learning process. We can learn any dance style you want! Ballet, Jazz, West African, Salsa, Yoga! The list goes on... If I don’t know it, I will learn it. I am also a big fan of creating and going on scavenger hunts and the outdoors. I also come with some musical instruments that we can play together, if that interests you!


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.