For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Jenny K.

Education

Barnard College, Columbia University,
B. A. in Religion and Environmental Sciences

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/15 - 08/15
One girl, age 3

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/14 - 05/15
One boy, age 18 months

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/14 - 05/15
Two girls, ages 1 and 3

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/13 - 08/13
Two girls, 7 and 10

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 12/15 - Present
Two girls, ages 5 and 8

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 12/14 - 12/14
One boy, aged 8 months

Professional Experience

Hebrew Teacher
New York, NY, 09/15 - Present

After-school Tutor
New York, NY, 09/12 - 12/12

Teacher's Assistant
New York, NY, 01/12 - 05/12

Hebrew Tutor/Bar and Bat Mitzvah Tutor
St. Louis, MO, 09/07 - 05/11

About me

I got my first childcare position when I was 11 years old, working in the children's play groups at a local synagogue. The many Saturday mornings I spent with these children were an integral part of my time in middle school and high school. They opened doors, as I made connections with many different families, being welcomed into their homes and their lives to care for their children. They also provided me with a deep sense of contentment as I watched the children with whom I worked grow and mature over my years with them. Over 10 years later, I still think of those children and their families, and the many others with whom I've since had the privilege of working, whether in their homes, or in summer camps, or in transitional moments. I have worked with children of all ages, from infants to preteens, from comforting crying babies and changing diapers to engaging with the intellectual curiosity of older children, and I've found a deep sense of satisfaction throughout. When working with children, I create a safe structured space while engaging their creativity and passions. Although I love the act of reading and the power of a book to open new worlds, I believe strongly in finding the best way for each individual child to prosper, through a variety different experiences.
My organizational skills and attention to detail have been essential in my childcare experience with families, in the community leadership roles I've held, and in utilizing my time to its fullest extent. I am a black-belt in Okinawan martial arts, a student of religious legal theory and practice, and an adventurous cook and baker. As a religiously observant person who lives mostly as a pescatarian, I am well versed in food allergies and dietary restrictions of all varieties. I am also a passionate about environmental issues, and love to recycle and compost.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Immersed in a book about history or religion, studying ancient Jewish legal texts, or exploring the cultural treasures of New York with friends.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Completing my CPE certification or Masters of Divinity degree. For almost ten years, I’ve dreamed of working with the sick and the downtrodden, helping them to grow in hope and faith.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Since I was a young child I always loved reading folk tales and adventurous stories. I still have many of my favorite childhood books with me and love to share them with the children with whom I work. I also enjoy listening to music, particularly musicals, and have had wonderful success sharing these soundtracks with kids, watching them get energized by the beat and inquisitive about the story behind the song. In my spare time I enjoy trying out new recipes, and I love to teach kids about food preparation and watch how they delight in the experience of making something for themselves or for their parents.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.