For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Rafael F.

Education

University of Pennsylvania,
B.A. in Sociology

Childcare Experience

Manny/Tutor
Los Angeles, CA, 08/13 - 10/15
Boy, age 12 upon hire

Manny/Family Assistant
Los Angeles, CA, 08/12 - 08/13
Boy and girl, ages 11 and 13 upon hire

Manny/Family Assistant
Los Angeles, CA, 01/11 - 12/11
Boy, age 14 upon hire

Coach
North Hollywood, CA, 08/09 - 12/10
Boys, ages 12-14

Camp Director
East Hampton, CA, 06/05 - 08/05
Kids, ages 5-13

Camp Counselor
Bridgehampton, NY, 06/98 - 08/00
Kids, ages 5-13

Camp Director
Prescott, AZ, 06/04 - 08/04
Kide, ages 10-11

Camp Counselor
East Hampton, NY, 06/01 - 08/01
Kids, ages 5-13

Professional Experience

Teacher
Philadelphia, PA, 08/06 - 08/07

Tutor
New York, Los Angeles, Philadelphia, NY, CA, PA, 09/96 - Present

Substitute Teacher
New York, NY, 01/06 - 06/06

Substitute PE Teacher
North Hollywood, CA, 09/09 - 06/10

About me

I began working with children as a summer camp counselor when I was 16. Since then, I have been a manny, tutor, classroom teacher, PE teacher, coach, camp counselor, mentor, and babysitter. I have worked extensively with both boys and girls, ages 5 -18, from a variety of backgrounds, in New York, Philadelphia, Los Angeles, and Arizona. Working with children is amazing, fulfilling work, and I always learn something new from every child I work with. As the saying goes, "When one teaches, two learn."

I believe mentorship is a vital ingredient to success in life, and I am very passionate about mentoring children so that they become happy, successful adults. I am part of a volunteer mentoring organization, in which I mentor others, have mentors that mentor me, and am trained how to become a better mentor.

A former high school and college athlete who still plays sports regularly, I love playing, coaching, watching, and discussing sports. A bit of a health nut, I am extremely well-versed in nutrition and physical fitness. A University of Pennsylvania graduate with 10 years of tutoring/teaching experience, I can provide strong academic guidance and assistance.

One thing I love about hanging out with kids is that they're not so serious all the time (like most adults). While I can be a serious, authoritative presence when needed (e.g. I was a teacher in inner-city Philadelphia), I also have a silly sense of humor. I love to just be silly, play board games, build stuff, tell stories, play imagination-based games, and in general do things just for the fun of it (such as see who can hit a certain tree with a tennis ball or something random like that).


I have professional child care experience with...

  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Playing football, basketball, and softball - both pick-up games and rec leagues. Doing mentoring, leadership training, and community service with my volunteer group. Going to restaurants, movies, sporting events, comedy shows, concerts with friends.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working as a comedy writer for film/TV/web.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Football, baseball, basketball, soccer, ping pong, billiards, swimming, card games, board games, hiking, weightlifting, running, aerobics, hide and seek, storytelling, story writing, story reading, filmmaking.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.