For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Alyssa N.

Education

Columbia University,
M.A. in Cultural Anthropology

University of Delaware,
Honors B.A. in Anthropology
B.A. in Material Culture Preservation

Childcare Experience

Occasional Date Night Sitter
New York City, NY, 09/15 - Present
Two boys, age 3 and 5

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/14 - Present
One boy, age 7

Part-time Babysitter
New York City, NY, 01/12 - 07/14
One girl, age 3.5

Part-time Overnight Babysitter
New York City, NY, 01/14 - 07/14
Two boys, age 3 and 5

After-School Babysitter
New York City, NY, 08/11 - 01/12
Three girls, ages 5, 7, and 10

Professional Experience

Gymnastics Coach
Newark, DE, 09/07 - 05/10

About me

I am a User Experience Researcher for a woman's healthcare organization. I love my job because I get to talk to and observe people most days and then use their feedback to make our digital products (mostly apps and mobile websites) work better. I came to the city to pursue an MA in Cultural Anthropology from Columbia University and since then I have been babysitting part-time.

I really love sitting because it helps me to be creative and keep myself focused on the things that really matter, such as family and remembering to enjoy and indulge in life's little moments. I’ve always enjoyed watching children grow and learn. Throughout my undergraduate career, I worked as a gymnastics coach; I loved helping them set goals for themselves and watched with pride when they accomplished those goals.

I am the type of sitter who actively engages children, and I believe in limited screen time. For close to three years I babysat an 8-month-old-girl until she was four (when they moved to the UK. I was lucky enough to visit the whole family in London last March). Currently I sit occasionally for a small number of families with children ranging in age from 3-9. Current and past responsibilities have included providing breakfast, lunch, and dinner, bath time, bed time, going to parks/museums/classes/sports lessons, tidying up throughout and at the end of the day, and occasionally staying over to help with night time/early morning wake-ups. I like to foster independence and self-confidence in children by allowing them to make decisions on smaller things, such as what activities we do (provided they are safe, parent-approved, and fit into the day's schedule). I find this makes children more willing to listen to the important things that are my responsibility to set.

Other than my experience, I am an extremely organized, patient, and caring individual. I love children and I pride myself in keeping kids intellectually stimulated and physically active. I love teaching through everyday experiences, helping kids excel, and learning from children and their interesting perspectives on the world.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Playing volleyball, going to the gym, running in Prospect Park, doing yoga, reading books, going to museums, traveling, or spending time with friends.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Excelling in my career and traveling often!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

When I am babysitting I enjoy engaging in sports, doing gymnastics (I coached it for 4 years), swimming, reading books, puzzles, arts and crafts, fun science experiments, playing pretend, baking, and spending time in museums, or sightseeing. I love sharing interesting facts with (and learning interesting facts from) the kids I babysit for!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.