For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Leigh J.

Education

Roanoke College,
B.A. in Psychology

Childcare Experience

Full-Time Nanny
New York, NY, 08/14 - 09/15
Girl, 7 months at start

Preschool Teacher
Charleston, SC, 08/13 - 05/14
Kids, ages 4-5

Full- Time Nanny, Babysitter, Part-Time Nanny
Charleston, SC, 08/12 - 05/14
Girls and boys, 3 months age 6

Private Tutor for child with special needs
Salem, VA, 02/11 - 05/12
Boy, age 9 at start

Intern at Cobham International School
Cobham, England, 05/11 - 06/11
Girls and boys, ages 4-6

Babysitter, Temporary and Part-Time Nanny
New York, NY, 09/15 - Present
Girls and boys between the ages of 3 months-13 yrs

Professional Experience

Full-time Nanny
New York, NY, 08/14 - 09/15

Part-time Nanny/ Temporary Nanny /Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/15 - Present

Full-time Nanny/ Part-time Nanny/Babysitter
Charleston, SC, 08/12 - 05/14

Preschool Teacher
Charleston, SC, 08/13 - 05/14

About me

I have always loved working with and caring for children. I began babysitting/nannying around age 12 and have worked with children ages 3 months to 13 years old. In middle school, I spent several years working as an assistant in an early childhood education program at my church. Throughout middle and high school, I also babysat the children of several different families. During my time in college, I took many courses related to early childhood education, and in May of my Junior year, I spent a month abroad in England interning as a teacher's assistant in a preschool classroom. I have experience working with children who have special needs as both a babysitter and tutor for children with diagnoses of autism, ADD, and ADHD. Since graduating from college with a B.A in Psychology, I have had the privilege of being both a full-time and part-time nanny, as well as a preschool teacher. I am originally from North Carolina but I love it here in NYC! In closing I would like to share with you that I am very passionate about caring for children, as well as doing anything I can to make a positive impact in their lives! I view being a nanny as one of the most rewarding and important jobs that one can have!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

I spend a lot of my time reading, volunteering, dog walking, and running. I am a member of New York Road Runners and Team In Training, an organization that raises money for the Leukemia/Lymphoma Society (a cause very near and dear to my heart). I did not start running until a little over a year ago but since then I have completed many races including a half-marathon, and in a couple of weeks I will complete my second half-marathon! I am a strong believer in helping people in any way that I am able. I also spend a lot of my Sunday afternoons volunteering at the Ronald McDonald House, which is a home for children fighting cancer.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Living in the city, running, and working as a nanny for a wonderful family!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love teaching children new things such as the alphabet, letters, numbers, sounds, etc. I also love doing crafts with children and helping them with homework. I am very creative and like to make learning fun for children.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.