For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Ashley D.

Education

Valencia College,
A.A in Elementary Education

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Orlando, FL, 08/10 - 09/12
Two girls and a boy, ages 2, 4,and 6

Nanny
Orlando, FL, 09/12 - 01/16
Newborn

Professional Experience

Tutor
Orlando, FL, 08/15 - 12/15

After-School Counselor
Orlando, FL, 03/15 - 08/15

About me

I have been involved in the childcare field for nearly a decade now and can't imagine a field I would enjoy more or feel more at home in. I have worked as a babysitter, nanny, tutor, and after-school counselor. My immersion into the child care field all began when my younger brother was born; I was 12 years old and loved helping my mother feed and care for him. From then on I babysat for many different families and close friends. I feel so honored to have been welcomed into the homes of the families I have worked for. I pride myself on creating strong bonds with all of the children I work with and feeling like a part of the family.

My primary nanny experience was with two families. The first family I worked with had three children ages 2, 4,and 6. My main duties included after-school tutoring/ homework help, dinner preparation, bathing, and bed time routine. I worked with this family for a little over two years before being referred to friends of theirs who were expecting their first child. I assisted the mother in the very daunting task of preparing for her new baby girl as well as developing routines once she arrived. Such routines included feeding schedules, physical activity time, napping schedules, and creating developmentally appropriate activities. In the last few years I have worked on the completion of my degree in elementary education as well as endorsements in reading and ESOL (English speakers of other languages). I very much look forward to whichever family I have the pleasure of working with in the future and getting to know them as well as I did past families.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Out on walks in the park with my dog or drinking coffee while reading a new book.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Furthering my passion of education by having my own classroom in the lower elementary grades.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Education is my true passion and I love finding new and creative ways to share this with children. Through my training and higher education I have acquired many techniques to incorporate art and movement into the general subjects of reading, math, science, and social studies and find that this helps students to be more motivated and retain knowledge for longer.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.