For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Rosalind P.

Education

City College,
M.S. in Education

College of St. Elizabeth,
B.S. in Business Administration

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/16 - Present
Girl, age 5 and Boy, age 1

Nanny
Mount Vernon, NY, 07/14 - 03/16
Boy, age 1

After-School Babysitter
Bronx, NY, 12/09 - 03/11
Boy, age 5-7

Nanny
Bronx, NY, 12/04 - 09/05
Boy, newborn

Professional Experience

Middle School Teacher
Charlotte, NC, 08/13 - 06/14

Environmental Educator
Manhattan, Brooklyn, and the Bronx, NY, 03/11 - 06/13

High School Math Teacher
Bronx, NY, 09/05 - 12/09

About me

I am a happy, fun, loving, and caring nanny. I have almost 20 years of experience working with children as a babysitter, tutor, nanny and even as a teacher. As a babysitter and nanny I have worked with newborns, infants, toddlers, preschool and elementary age children. As a tutor and teacher I have worked with elementary, middle school, high school, and even college students. I love every age group because every stage of life is beautiful and offers its own challenges and rewards. The most wonderful aspect about my career has been watching the baby I cared for grow and develop into a tween/teen/young adult. To see all the changes they have gone through or are still going through. To watch them grow and change as one watches the leaves change or a plant grow. And to see that very essence of the little baby I held in my arm in that young adolescent who is thriving to become an adult. Working with children has been very rewarding and I can't imagine working in any other area.

As a teacher I taught math, science, gardening, composting, and filming but I was learning too. I received many lessons about patience, diplomacy, and pop culture, amongst other things. I love everything that I am constantly learning when I spend time with children. I love their honesty and directness.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Hanging out with my three most favorite people in the whole wide world: my two nieces (ages 13 and 8) and my nephew (13 months old). My nieces and I love to hike the trails along the East and Hudson Rivers, and when they are at school, my nephew and I go for a walk (in his stroller). I also love to do yoga and I love to read.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In the lives of the children I have taken care of. I hope to see what they are up to and how they have changed.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to teach children how to love and care for our earth. I love to teach them about environmental stewardship because no matter how young or old someone is, they have an impact on our earth's resources.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.