For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Lindsay L.

Education

Marylhurst University,
Bachelor of Music Therapy (BMT)

Wesleyan University,
(Transferred)

Childcare Experience

Nanny
San Francisco, CA, 01/12 - 01/13
One girl, Age 18 months

Nanny
San Francisco, CA, 01/12 - 07/12
One girl, age 3; Occasionally boy, age 9 months

Nanny (Nanny Share)
Portland, OR, 06/11 - 12/11
Two boys, ages 10 months and 9 months

Nanny
Portland, OR, 09/10 - 09/11
One girl and one boy, ages 2 and 4

Nanny
Portland, OR, 09/08 - 02/11
Two girls, ages 2 and 8

Professional Experience

Music Therapist/Mental Health Therapist
Portland, OR, 05/13 - 09/15

Psychiatric Technician
Portland, OR, 03/13 - 07/13

Music Therapy Intern
San Francisco, CA, 07/12 - 01/13

Spanish-English Translator
Portland, OR, 07/09 - 10/09

Front Desk Employee
Costa Mesa, CA, 05/07 - 07/08

Customer Service Representative
Nantucket, MA, 05/01 - 08/05

About me

Working with children is my passion as I love their strong curiosity, immense capacity for creativity, and large potential for growth and learning. In addition to believing that children can learn from adults, I also believe that adults can learn from children--I always find that children remind me to live more presently and to cherish the truly important aspects of life.

I believe in helping children find their own strengths and resources to solve problems and complete tasks so that they can increase confidence and sense of ability. To me, there is nothing more rewarding than witnessing a child's growth, strengthening of abilities, and development of character. I enjoy when a child asks "why" questions about the world around him/her, as I believe answering these questions supports the development of his/her own moral compass and understanding of the world (rather than expecting children to accept facts/answers with the response "because I said so").

I have over five years experience working with children in a variety of settings, including at a children's hospital, at a youth psychiatric facility, at a youth juvenile detention center, and at private homes for nanny positions. I have plentiful nannying experience with a variety of ages. In addition, I am a licensed music therapist. I completed my music therapy internship at University of California, San Francisco, specifically at Benioff Children's Hospital and Langley Porter Psychiatric Institute. I greatly enjoy working with children of all abilities and differences.

Recently, I've been working my way through post-baccalaureate pre-medicine courses. I have always been interested in medicine and its deep ability to change people's lives for the better. Specifically, pediatric medicine is a field that greatly interests me. I ultimately plan on working with others using music therapy and medicine, as I believe the integration of these two fields is highly synergistic.

I could not pick anything more fitting in my life right now than to work with children. I greatly enjoy nanny positions, as I love the personal relationship that develops over time. I feel that my background in music therapy makes me a unique candidate for a childcare position. I have an educational background in psychology and have worked multiple years in mental health, so I am trained to work with children at all developmental stages. I enjoy connecting with and helping others, and I feel this comes out strongly in my interactions with children and their families. I am dependable, upbeat, warm, and creative, and my references all confirm these qualities of mine.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Going for walks or being active, listening to/playing music, spending time with my dog, spending time with family and friends, reading, and doing school work.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

On my path to medical school. I plan to have all of the prerequisite courses done at that point. If my life continued to include work with children, I would be happy!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to participate in creative activities with children. These activities range from imaginative play, coloring or drawing, making music, and other types of crafts. I enjoy being silly with children at appropriate times, but I am lovingly firm when needed. I am a very active person, so I enjoy going for trips around the neighborhood, to the park, or playing outside. I encourage engagement in intellectual development and learning in age-appropriate ways, as I believe these activities are highly important (for adults as well as children). It is a joy to track and witness each child's emotional, social, physical, and cognitive development.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.