For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

W. Marissa M.

Education

University of The District of Columbia,
B.S in Social Work

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 06/14 - 12/15
Four boys, 2 set of twins ages ages 6 and 3

Nanny
Maryland, MD, 05/11 - 08/13
Two boys, ages 3 months and 6 months

Nanny
Washington, DC, 06/09 - 05/11
Baby, age 3 months

Professional Experience

Daycare Assistant
Washington, DC, 04/09 - 09/11

Daycare Assistant
Brooklyn, NY, 05/05 - 09/08

About me

I have worked with children of different ages over the past seven years. I started working part-time for twin boys while attending college for Social Work, and I soon realized that this was the career path I would take.

By working with children of different developmental stages I was able to create techniques for playing and learning, and was also able to learn from and work with children of different backgrounds. My greatest experience I have had in recent years was working with autistic twins, which was very new to me. Thanks to Google and several trips to their therapist I learned to interact and understand their different needs, and found creative ways to play and communicate with them. It is a pleasure to see the children you have worked for still look forward to your visits on weekends.

As a sitter, I love to create a safe, fun, and somewhat structured learning environment for children. I believe a huge part of learning is through interactive play. Thus, being creative is one of my strong points when it comes to teaching. Trips to the museums, parks, or even a trip on the train or bus ride can incorporate different learning techniques. I'm detail oriented and I don't limit myself to only helping the child, I usually make myself handy around the home.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Online looking for new vegetarian recipes and experimenting with different dishes.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Still working for a wonderful family where I feel like I am part of the home.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Drawing, painting, reading, counting and sometimes dancing. Older children love to help make dinner and learn a few cooking skills.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.