For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Nikki S.

Education

New York University,
B.A. in Creative Writing and Literature

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/12 - 06/15
Two boys, ages 3 and 5

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 04/16 - 04/16
One girl, age 2

Daycare Worker
Hazleton, PA, 06/11 - 08/12
Boys and Girls, ages infant to 10 years old

Daycare Worker
Mountain Top, PA, 05/12 - 08/12
Boys and girls, ages 5-12

Part-Time Babysitter
Mountain Top, PA, 09/07 - 08/10
Two boys and two girls, ages 1, 3, 5, 8

Professional Experience

Assistant Publicist
New York, NY, 05/14 - 04/16

Team Leader
New York, NY, 09/10 - 05/12

About me

I have been caring for children for over ten years, and I have to say that out of all the other jobs that I have had, none have given me more happiness than childcare. I have experience working with children from four months old to school-aged. I’ve also maintained long-term relationships with families whose children I babysat regularly for years. All of these experiences have stuck with me and make me smile whenever I think of them. I feel honored to have had the opportunity to work with the families that I did.

I want to be a children’s fiction writer, and always have ever since I can remember. I went to New York University for my bachelor’s, and while there I focused on creative writing and children’s literature. I am very passionate about serving my community, and have volunteered at libraries and worked for early literacy nonprofits such as Jumpstart. I am also very detail-oriented and efficient, which I feel is a great asset when caring for kids. I’ve been trained in child CPR and First Aid, and am well versed in dealing with dietary restrictions.

I am so excited at the opportunity to work with children full-time and to help provide them with new and meaningful experiences!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I am not babysitting, I'm usually reading or writing. I read anything I can get my hands on, from adult fiction/nonfiction to children’s middle grade literature and picture books. I want to write middle grade novels, so I am always writing when I can. I am also a huge movie buff. When it’s nice out, I love exploring the city. There are always new neighborhoods to see, and it constantly amazes me.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In five years I’d like to be applying for or in graduate school for creative writing. I definitely want to still be working with children. I also want to work with a nonprofit or volunteer organization that works with families and children in the city.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love telling stories, and I love sharing them with children, whether we are reading, making them up or acting them out in play. The stories that kids tell me enlighten and inspire me all the time; the narratives that they make up are simply brilliant. I also think that telling stories to children offers the opportunity to introduce kids to lives that may be different from theirs. They teach the empathy and compassion needed to raise inquisitive, responsible and informed kids (plus they are so fun to tell!).


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.