For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Spencer M.

Education

Lesley University,
M.Ed. in curriculum and instruction
B.S. in business administration

Childcare Experience

Teacher
Nouakchott, Mauritania, 08/15 - Present
K-Grade 8

Manny
New York, NY, 01/15 - 06/15
Two boys, ages 8 & 12

Manny
New York, NY, 08/13 - 02/15
Three kids, ages 8, 11, 13

Assistant Teacher
New York, NY, 09/14 - 06/15
Grade 5

Manny
Montclair, NJ, 05/14 - 08/14
Twin boys, age 12

Manny
Canet de Mar, Spain, 06/15 - 07/15
Two boys, ages 6 & 12

Manny
Vienna, Austria, 07/15 - 08/15
One boy age 12

Professional Experience

Teacher
Nouakchott, Mauritania, 08/15 - Present

Teacher's Assistant
New York, NY, 09/14 - 06/15

About me

I am someone who first and foremost enjoys working with kids. In the past I have worked with kids in a wide range of fields including as a teacher, manny, coach, camp counselor and through volunteer work. Each of these roles has given me a different perspective on children which I greatly enjoy. In these roles, I have worked with boys and girls ranging in age from 5-17 with most of the experience being with those between 8-14.

Additionally, I am currently getting my M.Ed. Which I am set to receive by spring 2017. I can already say that I have been able to implement what I've learned into my working with kids. As a teacher, I have worked with middle school-aged children in various subjects including math, reading, writing, and history (but to be honest, math is my favorite... I'm kind of a math nerd). I'm currently teaching in the West Africa nation of Mauritania at an international school. This experience has opened my eyes as I have never experienced a culture quite like this one before.

When it comes to working with kids, there is nothing I enjoy more than playing sports and being a positive influence/role-model in their life. Sports are front-and-center in my life and that is something I like to share with those I work with. As far as my philosophy on working with kids, I am very big in instilling respect and responsibility. I don't believe I can have a successful relationship with a family without mutual respect between all parties. Even if it means more work for me, I make sure (in an age appropriate way) that the kids have chores or other duties to make sure they are learning the importance of responsibility. This can be done through bringing your dishes to the dishwasher, feeding the dog, cleaning up after a meal, setting the table, etc. This to me is of the utmost importance as I would like to see these children grow up to be respectful and responsible citizens!

Another important note about me is how I feel about technology. While I can see its many benefits, while with kids, I have a strict technology policy. I don't allow computers or other devices at the dinner table and never any social media. TV and movies are for when weather may keep us inside or the special occasions. I am a big fan of moving around and keeping both the kids and myself active.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Playing sports or traveling. These are my two biggest passions. When it comes to sports, I am open to play any, however I have a preference for ice hockey, baseball, soccer, and tennis. Additionally, I am a certified ice hockey referee and officiating games is one of my greatest enjoyments. As far as traveling is concerned, I have been to 35+ countries and 40 states and am always looking for another excuse to travel.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I can say I hope to be teaching/mannying, coaching sports, refereeing hockey and traveling, but let's be honest. One aspect of life I love is the uncertainty and never knowing exactly is to come in your future. It keeps me on my toes.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Sports, sports, sports! I also enjoy being a mentor and role model, one that kids can look up to. I also plan on sharing and teaching respect and responsibility (I do this by leading by example).


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.