For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Deedra W.

Education

BS,
Public Relations

MA,
Arts Administration

Childcare Experience

Before-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 05/16 - 06/16
Two girls, two boys, ages 17 months, 3, 6, & 9

Professional Experience

Early Childhood Assistant Teacher
New York, NY, 07/11 - 06/16

After-School Assistant Teacher
New York, NY, 09/10 - 06/13

3-Day Playgroup Nursery Lead Teacher
Brooklyn, NY, 07/09 - 06/10

2's Playgroup Lead Teacher
Brooklyn, New York, 07/08 - 06/09

Parent-Child Playgroup Lead Teacher
Brooklyn, New York, 07/08 - 06/09

About me

I'm from Wichita, Kansas and spent my summers in Oklahoma City. I'm the youngest sibling of three and grew up playing in nature where I developed a love for adventure. Besides play, I also like to challenge myself. I went to the School of Journalism at Florida A&M University to become a better communicator and minored in fine arts. As my passion for the arts grew, I applied and won a prestigious internship with AT&T Foundation in Arts & Culture and upon my director's recommendation, eventually studied Arts Administration at Teacher's College, Columbia University. In graduate school, I eventually found Waldorf, an education that included all of my interests: play, nature, and the arts and shortly after graduating realized that had a natural gift in education and became a teacher.

What I also love about Waldorf's early childhood, is its use of the domestic arts which adds warmth to our day. The rhythm is set by when we cook, craft and the seasons. I've been working with children for over 12 years, including, parent-child, after-school, aftercare, nursery, and kindergarten. I've also initiated several early childhood playgroups in Brooklyn before working at the Rudolf Steiner School in Manhattan. Besides the classroom, I've been teaching in an outdoor summer program in Central Park with mixed-aged children. From ages three to ten, children play freely, including climbing rocks, building with giant branches, and picking June and black raspberries whether it rains or shines.

I have two certifications in Waldorf Early Childhood, including Birth to Three and Kindergarten and have worked with children from birth to age 17. Currently, I'm completing my ICF/Life Coaching Certificate, specializing in Executive Functioning/ADHD in children and teens.

I enjoy a daily mindful practice and have taught Kids Yoga. I'm CPR certified and have studied medicinal aromatherapy.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Giving yoga and wellness session. You'll usually find me riding my bike, reading in a garden or park, strolling through a museum, organizing my home, visiting with family and having mock-tails an tea parties with friends.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

a PhD graduate with a focus in mindfulness and neuroscience with children

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Gardening, baking, hiking, reading, crafting, painting, circle time, yoga, and building executive functioning skills.


© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.