How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Olivia C.

Education

Texas Christian University,
B.A. in Broadcast Journalism
Minor in English Literature

New York University,
MS in Integrated Marketing

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, New York, 04/17 - Present
One boy, 1 month old

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, New York, 03/17 - Present
One girl, age 4

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, New York, 03/17 - Present
One boy, 7 months old

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, New York, 03/17 - Present
One girl, 9 years old, two boys, ages 6 and 13

Nanny
New York, NY, 08/20 - 11/20
One boy, age 1, and one girl, age 3

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/20 - 11/20
Two boys, ages 7 months and 6 years

Part-Time Babysitter
Austin, TX, 08/10 - 05/16
Boy, infancy to 6

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 03/16 - 05/16
One girl, age 6, One boy, age 7

Camp Counselor
Austin, TX, 12/10 - 03/16
30 girls, Elementary school ages 6-10

Professional Experience

Podcaster at CBS Radio
New York, New York, 04/17 - Present

Facebook Live Host at Distractify
New York, New York, 07/16 - 03/17

MSA Model
New York, NY, 04/16 - 05/16

Freelance Writer
New York, NY, 04/16 - 05/16

Weekend Anchor/Reporter
Bristol, VA, 05/14 - 09/15

News Intern
Dallas, TX, 05/13 - 08/13

About me

I've been working as a babysitter and nanny for seven years and it's my greatest joy to work with children! To this day, I'm very close to the woman who babysat me as a kid, and I credit her for shaping me into the person I am today. With that said, I want to have the same role in a child's life. At 17 years old, I took my first nannying job with a boy named Lincoln where I grew up in Austin, Texas. I babysat him from infancy to 5 years old before moving to New York City, where I've been babysitting with Hello Sitter, which is used mostly for occasional bookings. I've babysat for over 15 families through the app in the last year and a half with a variation of kids from 3 months old to 10 years old, and I'm proud to have reached "trending sitter" status.

I prefer to work with families on a regular basis, and I've committed most of my time as of recent to two families here in the city, most often with a family in the West Village with two children, a boy, 1, and a girl, 3. I spend a few days a week with them, between the hours of 8 am and 2 pm. Both families are moving, though, so I'm looking for a family to bond with! Whether it's being at a child's home when they wake up for breakfast, taking a child to the park during the day, or picking up a child from school and making dinner, I make sure to structure a child or several children's time to include arts and crafts, reading aloud, playing with toys, doing homework, and going outside to a nearby playground pending the weather. I'm positive, patient, and energetic.

When I am working with children, I want them to know that I'm both a friend and an authority figure. I want the children I babysit to feel comfortable opening up to me, but I also want them to know that there are behavioral expectations and rules to follow to be successful. I'm a devoted babysitter with a philanthropic background, and I'm a curious woman who loves to see curiosity spark in children. After all, asking questions and learning about a variety of topics will mold children into the leaders of our future generations, and I want nothing more than to be a great influence for the future.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

I currently am a podcaster with CBS Radio with a weekly show that airs every Tuesday called "Mouthing Off." When I'm not recording with a guest once a week for an hour, I'm reading or exploring New York City and all it has to offer (as much as I can as safely as possible during the pandemic). I have a long bucket list for this city that includes sightseeing and trying lots of new foods and restaurants.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In five years, I see myself working in a leadership position in digital marketing within the beverage or beauty space (my dream beverage company to work for is Topo Chico, mineral water originating in Texas). Ideally, I'd be dating my future life partner or married to him, and thinking about having children of my own! I see myself living in New York for most of my adult life and consider myself a city dweller.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to do anything creative with children that doesn't involve television! I'll suggest arts and crafts, drawing, and playing fun games. I'm an active person and love to take the children I babysit to a local playground or park to get some air and exercise. As stated above, I'm a big reader, so I always try to either read to the children I nanny or encourage them to show me their books. I just want the children I babysit to know the importance of creativity and passion and having fun in life, and I'm also big on following directions and rules.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.