For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Karen Y.

Education

Bergen Community College, NJ,
Associates Degree in Early Childhood Education

Childcare Experience

Student Intern
Manhattan, NY, -
classroom, ages between 3-4

Nanny
Sydney, Australia, 03/04 - 09/06
One boy, aged 2

Nanny
Sydney, Australia, 10/06 - 12/08
Two children boy/girl, ages 3 and 8 months

Nanny
London, United Kingdom, 02/09 - 03/10
Two children boy/girl, ages 2 and 3

Au-Pair
Ho Ho Kus, NJ, 04/10 - 01/14
Two children boy/girl, ages 2 and 8 weeks old

Babysitter
Manhattan, West Village, NY, 06/14 - 12/15
Three children boy/twin girls, ages 7and 4

Professional Experience

Student Intern
Manhattan, NY, 02/15 - 04/15

About me

Originally from Australia, I consider New York City my new home and enjoy all that it has to offer. While I miss “home”, this incredible city helps me forget that at times, with its amazing cultural diversity, great food, and countless things to do.
In my free time, I enjoy traveling, playing sports, spending time with my friends and family, and catching up with my loved ones on the phone. I can be described as a kind, patient, fun, and energetic, “big kid” who loves being around children. While I absolutely enjoy being around children, I feel every day can also be a learning experience for me since I look forward to one day having a family of my own.
While I have entertained other career options before, I have no doubt that working with children is my personal calling. I have been lucky enough to work with many great kids and families over the past ten years, and find my work incredibly rewarding. At the end of each day, seeing a smile on a child’s face and being able to make a difference in my own way makes me happy.
I believe that one of the keys to connecting with a child is keeping them engaged. From my personal experience, this engagement is best accomplished through fun games and activities. Depending on the audience, these activities can range from arts and crafts to baking or a physical activity. Once you are able to connect with them at an “engaged” level, you have their undivided attention as a teacher/caretaker that they look up to as a role model and friend.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Twins

I will be SmartSitting while...

Being active and outdoors whenever I have free time. I also love to spend time with friends and family, and travel when given the opportunity. Being from Australia, I try to make a trip back home when I can to see my family.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In five years, I hope to be a mother with a child of my own. While I am not sure where I will be professionally, I would ideally like to still be working with children in some capacity. I can see myself as a Kindergarten teacher somewhere down the road in the future.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

A common activity I like to do with the kids is teach them arts and crafts. That is something which usually catches their attention and helps sharpen their creative side. Since outdoor sports (particularly soccer) are a passion of mine, I also like to take the kids to the park and get them to be active. Any games or sports requiring physical activity and the outdoors also tends to be particularly effective, weather permitting. If the child is old enough, baking is another favorite activity that I like to teach them.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.