For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Briana Z.

Education

Syracuse University,
B.A.s in History and Spanish
Minors in Philosophy and Anthropology

Childcare Experience

Camp Counselor
Basking Ridge, NJ, 06/11 - 08/11
1st and 5th grade children

Full-Time Nanny
Basking Ridge, NJ, 06/14 - 07/14
Girl, age 13, two boys, aged 7 and 9

After-School Babysitter and Nanny
Basking Ridge, NJ, 10/10 - Present
Two boys, ages 12 and 14

Date-night Babysitter
Basking Ridge, NJ, 06/15 - Present
Two girls, ages 10 and 11, two boys ages 5 and 10

Professional Experience

Assistant Paralegal
New York, NY, 05/16 - Present

Legal Intern
Syracuse, NY, 09/15 - 05/15

Human Resources Intern
Warren, NJ, 06/15 - 08/15

Legal Intern
Florham Park, NJ, 06/14 - Present

Volunteer Children's Librarian
Basking Ridge, NJ, 01/11 - 06/11

Volunteer Tutor
Newark, NJ, 01/11 - 06/12

Ice Cream Scooper and Manager
Basking Ridge, NJ, 04/08 - 06/13

About me

My childcare began at 8 years old when my baby brother was born. I was a natural big sister and cared for him as if he was my own. I realized how much I enjoyed childcare at that time and continued to aid my family when my younger cousins were born. Coming from a close knit family, I aided in raising my younger siblings and cousins tremendously. My aunts credit me as being the "second mother" of their children since I helped so immensely with their infant through elementary care. I then began being a "mothers helper" at age 12 and continued into full babysitting and nannying thorough middle school, high school and college. My own insatiable curiosity and energy is why I connect so well with children.

My philosophy has always been priding myself on an open, fun, kind and nurturing approach to children. This in turn allows them to open up and feel comfortable easily with me. I place higher value on adventures than television time. I have always been fun seeking and activity loving which I share with children whenever possible. I meticulously work to come up with fun daily activities that may also have academic or physical value. Some examples of these are science projects, museum visits (MoMA, Met, Natural History), library visits, hiking, biking, playground visits. Arts and crafts are one of my strong suites so I love any opportunity to make art. I listen and interpret children's needs and desires and turn them into engaging activities. I also pride myself on being a great baker and love to cook.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Spending time with family. I love to read (especially philosophy and fantasy). I enjoy riding horses and usually lease a horse every summer. I love all animals and try to volunteer on the weekends (I was a cat mentor at the CNY SPCA while at college). I also enjoy physical exercise and sports (especially lacrosse). I love art and history so I love to visit different museum exhibits in my free time.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Beginning my career as a Human and Animal Rights lawyer.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I speak fluent Spanish and studied in Madrid so I love any opportunity to share the culture and language. I was an AP art student in high school and took upper division art classes in college so I love to teach studio type art.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.