For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Elena F.


Columbia University,
M.S. in Occupational Therapy

Birsk State Academy of Social Care and Education,
Combined B.A. and M.A. in Educational Psychology

Bergen Community College,

Childcare Experience

Part-time babysitter
Manhattan, NY, 08/16 - Present
Two boys 5 years old (twins)

Au Pair and live-in nanny
Glen Rock, NJ, 08/13 - 06/16
Two boys, 6 and 10; girl 8

Occasional Babysitter
Fair Lawn, NJ, 03/16 - 06/16
Boy, 18 months

Au Pair
Christiansburg, VA, 07/12 - 07/13
Girl 2,5; boy 6

Professional Experience

Daycare teacher
Birsk, Russia, 07/11 - 07/12

Restaurant Manager
Birsk, Russia, 05/10 - 06/11

About me

I am originally from Russia where I grew up and went to school to get a degree in Educational Psychology. Being an older sister to a baby brother I experienced from a young age what it is like to be a babysitter. Since then, I would help my relatives with their children. I am from a small town where all the family members live close to each other and help each other. Staying with my younger cousins, nieces and nephews was a normal routine for me. I think this was one of the reasons I decided to go to school and get an education in child psychology. in 2012 I moved to the USA as an Au Pair. I loved the program and its opportunities allowed me to apply my knowledge and experience in a different culture. I decided to stay here and continue my education. I have had time to consider what I want to further my education in, and have finally decided to study occupational therapy. It seems like a very good area and I will be able to work with kids, which I am really happy about. Right now I am a second year occupational therapy grad student at Columbia University. I love the program and the amount I learn there every day. My areas of interests are pediatrics and orthopedics. I am looking forward to a pediatric rotation this upcoming spring semester.

When I am not working or studying I love to hike and travel. I try to go hiking every time the weather permits. I enjoyed going to the Grand Canyon, Utah and Colorado in the past two years.

I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins

I will be SmartSitting while...

Hiking, reading or studying.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

An occupational therapist and a mother.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I am very passionate about cooking and baking and love to involve the children as well. I enjoy going on bike rides with the children or doing any kind of outdoor activities. I am a good swimmer and I love spending time in the pool with the kids.

© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.