For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Sheena Jeszelle G.

Education

Morgan State University,
Studies in Communications and Public Relations

Borough of Manhattan Community College,
Associates Degree in Communications (In Progress)

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 12/15 - 05/16
Infant Baby Girl, 2 months - 7 months

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/15 - 05/16
Girl, age 7

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/15 - Present
Twin Girls, age 6

Teaching Fellow
New York, NY, 02/13 - 06/15
Students, ages 10-14

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 04/11 - Present
Boy, age 8

Senior Camp Counselor
New York, NY, 06/10 - 08/10
Kids, ages 4-7

Professional Experience

Citizen Schools Teaching Fellow
New York, NY, 02/13 - 06/15

Supra Footwear
New York, NY, 06/15 - Present

Assistant Store Manager
New York, NY, 12/10 - 12/12

About me

While in high school, I began tutoring middle school students while volunteering with a non-profit, educational after-school program that valued the ability of having students teaching students. It was there that I recognized the importance of giving back to my community by uplifting the youth. I still stand by this ideal today, and have continued to do so while working with children in various environments. I have worked with children in all stages of development, from infants to teenagers. My experience has taught me that children thrive when they have caring adults that work to understand them while setting firm boundaries. That trust along with motivation and exposure to opportunities students can achieve, lead children to want to do their best for themselves. I strongly believe in the value of self-empowerment. In my five years working in middle school, I have experienced the value in these relationships, by leading by example and balancing between nurturing and having firm expectations for children. Along with my teaching/childcare experience, I am also well versed in office management skills.

I also enjoy cooking and baking. I have been a pescetarian for about 4 years, but still enjoy cooking for all types of eaters. I have a great appreciation for the arts, having grown up playing music and dancing as a child, and these are activities that I still appreciate.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I am not babysitting I am usually spending time with family, I am very close with my grandmother who lives in the Bronx. When I am not focused on school work, I spend a lot of time with friends (many of which also work in education); we enjoy exploring the city, finding new restaurants and other fun activities. I also love to go find unique boutiques and clothing stores exclusive fashion finds.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years I hope to have graduated from an accredited four-year university and either of the New York Teaching Fellowship program or working in a small charter school in New York. I would like to be teaching English Language Arts at the middle or elementary school level.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to teach children to read; I am very experienced in the Guided Reading Program: a 'small-group reading instruction designed to provide differentiated teaching that supports students in developing reading proficiency'. I also enjoy teaching children to cook or bake, and other artistic activities like painting and dancing.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.