For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Katie K.

Education

University of the Fraser Valley,
Bachelor of Arts: Criminal Justice
Professional Communication Essentials Certificate

Childcare Experience

Live-In Nanny
Jersey City, NJ, 08/15 - 08/16
One boy, age 9; Two girls, ages 11 and 14

Live-In Nanny/Full Charge
London, UK, 10/13 - 08/15
One boy, age 3 months; One girl, age 1.5

Mother's Helper/Travel Nanny
Vancouver, BC, 08/06 - 08/11
One boy, infant

Professional Experience

Volunteer 'Mighty Munchkins' Camp Counselor
Edmonton, AB, 06/98 - 08/02

Manager/Kids Bikram Yoga
Vancouver, BC, 01/13 - 10/13

About me

I am a Canadian/American/Brit currently residing in Jersey City, NJ, seeking a full-time position in the city. I’ve had years of experience in a variety of capacities (live-in, live-out, travel nanny, mother’s helper, babysitter, volunteer etc.) and have worked with children in all stages of development from infancy to teenager. I also have completed my Post-natal Maternity Nurse Care course while in London, England, which has equipped me with the theory and tools to implement sleeping/feeding routines, healthy sleeping patterns, positioning and attachment techniques for breastfeeding mothers as well as baby illnesses, including colic and reflux. I have experience working along side stay-at-home moms and also being sole-charge of multiple children for 12+ hours a day.

When career searching, I tried to imagine the perfect job and thought – what a great opportunity to be able to do two things I love – going on adventures, learning about myself and others and spending time with children. I truly get such a thrill out of spending time with children and allowing them to teach me so many new things. Their energy is so positive and their perspective of the big bright world is so inspiring. I admire and strive to match children’s endless energy, their honesty, their resilience and creativity. Every day is different and each day is filled with curiosity and questioning the world in order for it to make more sense to the little one.

I am a nanny who isn’t afraid of getting dirty and/or wet. I encourage fun and creativity, even if it means there is a big mess for me to clean up while the kids are napping. I will be on the floor playing, in the playground squeezing through contraptions alongside the children, jumping and singing and being silly with them all day long while finding and encouraging teachable moments along the way.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not babysitting, I am usually trying my hardest to be outside. I enjoy picnics with friends, outdoor patios, live shows (plays and movies in the park, comedy shows, broadway, live sports events). I've recently started running and have been a yogi for over 15 years. Cooking and baking are also massive time consumers when I am not babysitting, exploring and experimenting in the kitchen is a passion of mine.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working with the same family, having been a part of the growth and development of the children, and starting to think of starting my own family.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I am a very active person, and I like the children I work with to lead active lifestyles. I involve children in all aspects of the day, teaching them morning routines (picking out clothes, getting ready etc.), getting them involved in cooking and baking very early (even if baby is in highchair with a mixing spoon and some flour). This allows daily teachable moments throughout the day and encourages food knowledge and a healthy lifestyle as well as starts exploring independence for the child. Working with sensory play using different textures and smells and objects helps us explore the world. Books are another component of daily life with me(as well as a great love of mine), and I seem to pass that on to all children I work with. Library outings and reading countless books every day is a very common occurrence.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.