For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Alexandra B.

Education

University of Maryland,
B.A. in History

Childcare Experience

Full-time Nanny
Washington, DC, 01/08 - 01/10
One boy, age 6 months until 2.5

Summer Nanny
New York, NY, 06/10 - 08/10
One girl, age 2.5

Full-time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 02/11 - 05/13
One girl, age 3 months until 2.5

Summer Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 05/13 - 07/13
One girl, age 1

Full-time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 09/13 - 09/15
One girl, age 3 months until 2.5

Professional Experience

Assistant Child Advocate
Providence, RI, 06/07 - 08/07

Postpartum Doula
New York, NY, 04/16 - 05/16

About me

I have worked as a full-time nanny for the last nine years. I have extensive infant and toddler experience, starting my work with babies when they are 3 months old and caring for them until they are 2-and-a-half. I provided live-in care for my cousin when she had her newborn and I am a DONA-trained postpartum doula.

I'm an incredibly hands on, devoted, creative and responsible caregiver. I have a very strong understanding of infant development and base my care around that. I am committed to working with families to provide whatever support they might need in caring for their child. I have extensive knowledge of feeding infants, helping them get onto a sleep schedule and caring for them as they grow. I provide a strong sense of love and compassion and maintain a level of safety and boundaries that allow for children to develop their emotional well-being.

I love reading, exploring the outdoors and any kind of creative expression, and I extend these passions into how I care for children. I read to kids of all ages, I bring them to sing-a-longs and story hours, to the playground and museums. I believe strongly in the power of imaginative play and providing space for children to do so. I truly love being a nanny and working to support families.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers

I will be SmartSitting while...

Writing, reading, visiting museums and going to the beach to swim in the ocean.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working as a post-partum doula and writing.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Reading, arts and crafts, imaginative play and exploring the outdoors.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.