For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Erika S.

Education

Monroe College,
A.S in Medical Assistant

Childcare Experience

Full-Time Nanny
New York, NY, 10/08 - 08/11
Boy 6 months - age 3

Full-time Nanny
Bronx, NY, 01/12 - 02/16
One girl age 5 months - 4

Professional Experience

Medical Assistant
Bronx, NY, 05/13 - 09/13

About me

I am an experienced nanny with background in working with infants and toddlers. I'm detailed oriented, flexible and adaptable, with extensive knowledge of educational activities, and children's nutritional needs. I've worked with two different families as a full time nanny, with kids ages 6 months through 4 years old. Growing up, I would provide care for my older cousins' children, which is how I developed a passion to work with children. Children are extremely sensitive yet they are full of joy and bring so much happiness to one's atmosphere, which is why I like to dedicate my time to children.

A safe environment is the most important aspect of childcare. Although, I assure you children are safe while they are under my care, it is also important for children to have a fun environment. I like to incorporate songs in my educational activities because it allows children to pay attention. My childcare experience has allowed me to realize how much I enjoy working with families. This the field I would like to expand in and one day open a day care center.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not babysitting I enjoy running, attending the gym and educational museums. I also enjoy learning different activities children may like.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In five years from now I would like to be the owner of a Day Care/ Recreational Center. During the day the center will only operate for the age group 1 year old through 4 years old. After school, the center will provide different actives for all age groupsm such as basketball, arts and craft, ballet, tap, swimming lessons and piano lessons, other musical lessons and educational games. I would also like to run a summer camp and include 5 different sports and a cooking class. This center will be design with an income base fee schedule for low income families and single mothers.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

There are many different types of activities I love to teach and share with children; however, it differentiates by age as well as per child. For example, I find that children of the age of 6 months through 4 years old learn their abc's, 123's and word spelling when it is done as a song. Basic activities I find that most children enjoy, and I enjoy doing with them are playing at the park, reading books, singing rhymes, and educational games. One thing that is very important to me is teaching children educational skills an early age. Since children are able to grasp things easy and quickly I like to teach them the letters of the alphabet, numbers and name spelling at an early age. I like to create my own flash cards with the children and practice them together. I also like to incorporate Spanish as a second language into everyday activities. It is crucial that educational games are fun and exciting!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.