For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Paola R.

Education

Hunter College,
B.A in Film and Studio Art

Borough of Manhattan Community College,
Associate in Arts

Childcare Experience

After-school Babysitter
New York, , 09/16 - 02/17
one girl, age 8 and one boy, age 10

Babysitter
Queens, NY, 01/16 - 06/16
One girl, age 2

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/13 - 12/16
One boy, age 8-9

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/13 - 01/14
One Boy, age 7

Camp Counselor
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, 06/14 - 08/15
Boys and Girls, ages 5-6

Professional Experience

Music Tutor
New York, NY, 08/15 - Present

Sales associate at Sunglass Hut
New York, NY, 07/15 - 09/15

Spanish Tutor
New York, NY, 09/12 - Present

About me

When I was 10 years old, I started to teach how to read and write to my little sister and tutor math to some children in the small town where I grew up. It was there when I started to notice that I had the love and the patience to work with children. After that I started to get more and more involved with childcare and falling in love with teaching. I like working with children because I can be silly and fun with them, I can listen and talk with kids very easily. They have an ability to always make my day. I have a very patient personality and a lot of energy, love and dicipline to give.

Part of my experience is when I started to volunteer as a teacher assistant for children from ages 5 -6 and as a child care assistant at an American medical humanitarian project placed in my country. In the united states I started as a Spanish tutor for two families with one wonderful boy in ages 7-9 each. But later I ended up working as a part time baby sitter for both of those families for a long time. While doing that, I started taking seminars on how to teach children. Thanks to that I am more prepare and able to work with children in a more effective manner. Also, I am currently giving Sunday classes to a group of ten children from ages 6-10. Moreover, I was with a two years old beautiful little girl, which I would take care of her and teach her Spanish and English language.

Thanks to my experience and training to teach children from toddlers to pre-teens, I have learned how to work with different personalities and needs. I am also an art lover, I paint, sculpt, sew and love to make arts and crafts. I also Iove theater and Music, I used to play the flute and work as a music tutor. I also love Sports, I play tennis and volleyball. I always implement my knowledge and skills while taking care of children. I learned to always be respectful towards them, always keep my promises, and always be positive. Few years ago I started a fundraiser through my church for a lot of children in need in Dominican Republic where once a year I get the joy to share toys and knowledge with them. I love working with children because they learn from me just as I learn from them.

Over the past years, I have been working hard with children while having great grades in school, but I also pushed and I keep pushing myself a little more to dedicating myself to learn a lot of skills in order to educate myself, but most importantly to educate and serve others.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

I am usually at the theater acting or helping out. Most of my free time I am making art, sculpting; painting; sewing; making or editing film and photography or playing sports. I am always learning a new skill or just enjoying a great book or film.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

An elementary school teacher.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to teach Spanish, how to read and write. Depending on the age, I like to teach sports such as tennis; music; arts and crafts; sewing and baking. Also I love sharing stories that they will remember and learn from.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.