How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Jordan J.


New York University,
B.F.A. in Screenwriting

University of Pennsylvania,
Ms.Ed. Urban Education

Childcare Experience

Full Time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 08/16 - Present
Boy, age 7, Girl Newborn

Occasional Babysitting
Philadelphia, PA, 06/15 - 06/16
One girl, newborn

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 11/12 - 06/14
One girl, age 4

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/13 - 06/14
Two boys, ages 3 and 5

Full and Part-Time Nanny
New York, NY, 06/13 - 06/14
Girl age 9 boy age 4

Live-In Nanny
New York, NY, 08/13 - 06/14
Two children, girl age 1.5 years and boy, newborn

Professional Experience

English Teacher
Philadelphia, PA, 08/14 - 06/16

About me

As a tween, I was always the older child at the family party surrounded by little ones. By 14, I began to tutor and sit for children i my neighborhood. Now, many years later, I boast a wide range of childcare experience in New York as well as Philadelphia, in positions ranging from mother's helper to full time, live-in nanny. I have worked with children across all stages of development, from changing diapers to preparing for high school, milestones of which I feel privileged to be a part of. My creativity and love of learning lends itself well to engaging kids in hands-on, educational play, while my adaptability and thoughtfulness make help me to structure and manage schedules.

Outside of nannying, I am a certified middle school English teacher, with a love of all things art, history and culture. I practice aerial yoga, work at a dance fitness studio, and spend my weekends learning languages, watching films, exploring museums, and antiquing. Creativity and education go hand-in-hand with my care philosophy, where I seek to make every opportunity a place for learning and self expression.

As a teacher, I learned how to temper structure, safety and discipline with the right amount of exploration to tap into a child's natural desire to learn about the world. I strive to set myself apart with flexibility and intentionality, be it singing songs, reading and acting out stories, building craft projects, or whatever else a child enjoys. I promote autonomy and independence, but always make sure to establish myself as a reliable source of stability. Learning through doing is important to me and I would be so happy to share it with your child!

I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Catching a film at the Film Forum, writing or reading in a book shop, taking language classes, antiquing, visiting the museums, biking across the Brooklyn Bridge, swimming at the beach, trying a new (vegan!) recipe, doing aerial yoga, dancing.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working with a family that I have worked with for an extended time, and getting ready to transition out of childcare into writing full-time.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I speak conversational French (enough for getting around Paris) and I am learning Spanish and Italian, all of which I would love to share with children. I practice yoga, do dance cardio and Barre, play tennis and love making things (crafts, stories) and love getting kids working with their minds and their hands.

© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.