For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Carolina H.

Education

Kingsborough Community College,
A.S in Mathematics

Brooklyn College,
B.A Secondary Education in Mathematics

Childcare Experience

Occasional Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 02/14 - Present
Girl, age 4

Date-Night Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 02/15 - 08/15
Boy, age 3

Weekend Babysitter
New York, NY, 12/14 - Present
Two girls, ages 2 and 5

Professional Experience

Mathematics Tutor
Brooklyn, NY, 07/14 - 08/15

Assistant at I Have a Dream Foundation
Bronx, NY, 06/14 - 07/14

About me

Since I was 12 years old I knew I wanted to teach, and all these years I have been trying to figure out what grade level I enjoy best working with. I love mathematics and the only grades where I can teach higher mathematics are 7-12. On the other hand, I enjoyed working with children and emphasizing the idea that from a young age, math is not only important but also fun. As a future teacher and immigrant myself, I can not deny the importance of being bilingual or multilingual in NYS, especially in New York City. The families I worked for have given me the privilege to not only to feel welcomed into their home lives but have also allowed me to put some of my ideals into practice with their children.

While in college, I volunteered at I Have a Dream Foundation in the Bronx where I got to aid 2nd and 3rd graders in classrooms. I was able to closely observe the teacher teach while making learning fun, something I hope to do in the future with my students and the children I take care of. Babysitting for different families and working with children ages 1-7 years old gives me an opportunity for personal and professional growth. I learn a lot and have fun working children. My goal is to encourage children to do what they love best, just like my niece who I encouraged to do what she loves, reading books. Recently, my niece got an award for her passion in books, and this make me very proud.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)

I will be SmartSitting while...

I enjoy meditation and walking in the park. I also enjoy reading books to my niece who is 5 years old. I enjoy writing poetry in Spanish and English.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Five years from now I imagine myself attending graduate school to get my masters in Education. I also hope to be teaching mathematics to youths and hopefully teaching math to children ages 2+.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love teaching children to create or build things. I helped children building houses, buildings, parks or places with legos or blocks. I also enjoy helping children to count or recognizing colors both in English and Spanish. I love reading books to children, especially when I try to incorporate counting or recognizing colors or associating words with pictures.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.