For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Legna C.

Education

University of Kansas,
B.A. in Psychology

Childcare Experience

Full- Time Babysitter
Manhattan, NY, 10/16 - Present
Two girls, ages 6 and 14 ,Two boys, ages 10 and 12

Full-Time Summer Nanny
Lawrence, KS, 06/12 - 08/12
Two boys, ages 9 and 12

Occasional Babysitter
Lawrence, KS, 02/14 - 08/14
Boy, age 3-4

Elementary Assistant Teacher/Teacher
Lawrence, KS, 05/14 - 09/14
Students, ages 5-12

Preschool Assistant Teacher/Teacher
Lawrence, KS, 09/12 - 09/14
Students, ages 3-4

Part-Time After School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 10/14 - 05/15
Boy, age 6

Occasional Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 02/15 - Present
Girl, age 6; boy, age 3

Professional Experience

Elementary Assistant Teacher/Teacher
Lawrence, KS, 05/14 - 09/14

Preschool Assistant Teacher/Teacher
Lawrence, KS, 09/12 - 09/12

Lead Hostess
New York, NY, 12/14 - Present

About me

I was born and raised in Kansas City - the City of Fountains and great barbecue. From a young age, I was interested in everything that had to do with music, performing, family, friends, and enjoying life to the fullest. I grew up being the middle child, sandwiched between two boys who taught me everything I needed to know about all things Nintendo, riding a bike, sharing, patience, kindness, and holding my own. I have been caring for children professionally for about 10 years, though I would like to say my childcare journey started much earlier than that. My mom and her best friend ran a home daycare that consisted of about seven toddlers. At the time I was about seven years old, but I can vividly remember times when I would stay at the daycare when I did not have school. I loved helping my mom prepare activities and being her "little helper." I didn’t know it at the time, but that experience would be the first of many for me in childcare.

Kids are bright, perceptive, honest, imaginative, and energetic. I love getting to know the personality of every child I work with in order to find just the right activities they will enjoy. In doing this, I also learn what works for them in their learning process and what doesn’t, as well as how to care for each and every need that may arise. Kids are playful and energetic, and I get so excited knowing I get to play with them and dive into their world of imagination and fun. I get a rush of joy and personal satisfaction when a parent tells me that their kid is excited to see me. I promise, I am just as excited, if not more excited, to be a part of their day and join in on their activities! Parents can be at ease knowing their most precious gift is truly cared for emotionally and physically.

I am confident childcare is one of my biggest strengths because I recognize that I am a child at heart. I am a very playful individual, and I am at my best when I view the world through the lens of a child: big, beautiful, wondrous, and full of potential to explore. My primary goal is that families receive the quality of care that best fits their family dynamics and needs, through which I can contribute to the well-being and happiness of their home.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I am not caring for children, I stay busy by writing songs, spending time with family and friends, going to the movies, reading, being outdoors, staying active, learning, listening to audiobooks, taking dance classes and enjoying life. On cold and rainy days, I find myself reading, playing a new chord on the guitar, knitting using a loom, or learning something new! I believe every minute is precious, and I want to make it count.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Five years from now I hope to continue to be involved in childcare at any capacity, whether that is a family of my own, continuing to work with families, or teaching children. It is hard to think about not being involved in childcare one way or another! I hope to continue my development as an artist and further establish myself within the music industry as a vocalist and songwriter. I am so grateful to live in a place with so much opportunity and room for personal growth. I hope to stay in New York for as long as I can!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

My additional skills include fluency in Spanish (I was raised in a Spanish-speaking household). I attended a French immersion elementary school and continued to study French in high school. I can pronounce all the words with relative ease (and can usually work out the general idea through context clues). I can play beginning guitar and ukulele. I have taught music class to preschool students. As part of my certification process for the elementary school I taught at for two years, I was First Aid and CPR Certified. I attended classes as part of their training program on signs for child abuse and neglect, illnesses, preventative measures, and was taught in pool and recreational safety. I was part of many different recreational activities growing up including, dance, track, karate, jujitsu, soccer, and acting. I studied and received my bachelor’s degree in psychology in the spring of 2014. Additionally, I studied child development while earning my degree and have found it to incredibly helpful in my understanding of children. I have been a youth ministry leader for a little over a year and have had the pleasure of serving pre-teens and teenagers in a counseling position. As a volunteer leader, I have worked with girls and boys navigating through different seasons of life as they find their rhythm in school and personal life. I serve as a trusted adult and have experienced this same youth ministry organization as a youth years ago, so I find it extremely gratifying to now be a leader helping other girls in this stage of life. This position has taught me the importance of being consistent, showing up for kids, exercising patience, and how to be a better listener.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.