For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Angela K.

Education

University of California, San Diego,
B.A. in Psychology

Iona College,
MS Clinical Psyc., Marriage & Family Therapy

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
San Marcos, CA, 09/08 - 06/11
Two girls, one boy, ages 6, 4, 2 at start

Part-Time Nanny
Manhattan, NY, 07/11 - 06/12
Two boys, age 4 and 6 at start

Nanny
Upper East Side, Manhattan; Westchester summers, NY, 05/13 - 02/15
Two boys, one girl. Aged 9, 7 & 2 when I started

Nanny
Manhattan; Hamptons, NY, 02/15 - 07/16
Three girls, ages 3, 2, and 4 months at start

Part-Time Babysitter
Oceanside, CA, 07/05 - 06/11
Two girls, ages 3 and newborn at start

Professional Experience

Behavioral Interventionist
San Diego, CA, 06/08 - 06/09

Behavioral Specialist
Carlsbad, CA, 03/10 - 07/11

Family Therapy Intern
New Rochelle, NY, 08/12 - 10/14

About me

In my personal life, I love nature, reading, animals, spending quality time with friends and family and exploring the rich cultural experiences NYC has to offer, especially the food!

Some of the reasons I work with children include: they are fun, I don't mind the challenges or hard work, kids are our future scientists, leaders, inventors and artists, and I appreciate being a positive influence in their lives. I believe every child should be nurtured to go on to lead happy and productive lives. I genuinely enjoy working with children and making the experience fun, engaging, educational and enriching. I have a strong understanding of childhood development and love working with kids of all ages.

When working with children, I try to maintain a balance of structured and unstructured time. I do my best to get kids outside, active, using their imaginations, harnessing their creativity. In my experience, kids learn a lot more by engaging their interests and exploring their world than just sticking to textbook studies. Textbooks do have their place, I have always done very well academically and have a lot of patience, making me a great homework helper.

I try to make educational activities fun and interesting to get kids excited about exploring and learning. I also love reading with children, playing educational games and working on art projects.

I have babysat and worked as a nanny throughout college and graduate school. In NYC, I have worked with the full range of infants to preteens. I have frequented the museum's, zoos, parks, libraries and art centers. I am very comfortable and familiar with navigating all around the tri-state area both by public transport and driving.

I am happy to help with cleaning up, laundry, dishes, organization or family errands. Though these tasks may be mundane, I especially enjoy them when I know I'm allowing parents to have more time with their kids.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Exploring a neighborhood, spending quality time with friends, eating out, reading at home, getting outdoors when the weather is nice (hiking/beach).

In 5 years, I hope to be...

My long term goal is to use my degree and experience to develop a website with resources to encourage happy and healthy family dynamics and relationships. I hope to be able to travel more then and start thinking about having a family of my own.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Pre-K basics Math & Science Art Cooking & Baking Making the best of every situation Manners & Kindness


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.