For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Angie I.

Education

College Escuela de Administración,
Associates in Social Work

Childcare Experience

Full-Time Babysitter, Nanny
New York, NY, 01/93 - 03/95
Two girls, ages 4 and 10

Full-Time Babysitter, Nanny, Assistant
New York, NY, 04/95 - 06/10
Two girls, ages 1 month and 5; one boy, age 3.5

After-School Babysitter, Part-Time
New York, NY, 01/99 - 11/00
One girl, age 1; one boy, age 5

After-School Babysitter, Part-Time
New York, NY, 09/09 - 07/10
Fraternal Twins, age 9

After-School Babysitter, Part-Time
New York, NY, 09/07 - 07/14
One boy, age 11; one girl, age 8

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 05/15 - Present
One girl, age 1

Professional Experience

In-Home Child Care
New York, NY, 1993 - present

About me

I am an experienced nanny having worked twenty-seven years in the field. Given my extensive experience, I have acquired progressive experience with children and families and am culturally and socially sensitive or in other words, hold the principal of cultural relativism.

I love working with children because it is amazing to see their development and I am always proud to know that I have contributed to part of that. I would say that my success in working with children is due to having a young at heart attitude! I know how to be silly while setting boundaries. I am very engaging and playful and don't mind running around or playing at the park with children. I enjoy learning and growing with the children I raise and always hope to instill good manners and values upon them as well as encourage them so they may develop into great teenagers and adults.

I am a native Spanish speaker and advanced English speaker, I have raised children in a bilingual atmosphere at all of the positions I have held; the parents really appreciated having their children grow up in a bilingual environment. I attain skills in arts and crafts, baking, and cooking. I encourage children to participate in these activities and am able to engage them which always makes for a good time.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers

I will be SmartSitting while...

Baking, cooking, listening to music, reading, and exercising. I also like learning about nature and history by watching educative television programs such as The History Channel, Discovery, National Geographic, The Smithsonian, and PBS to name a few.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Still in NYC, working and learning while planning for my future. I hope to travel around Europe and establish a secure future for myself.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love working on arts and crafts with children. In particular, I enjoy showing them how to craft jewelry, sew, knit, and make puppets in addition to drawing and painting. I love to take children to the park and play catch, run around, push the kids on the swings, or play in the jungle gym. I also find joy in teaching children Spanish if and when the parents are open to it. I like to bake with kids; my favorite things to bake are cookies, muffins, and banana cake!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.