For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Rachael H.

Education

Texas A&M,
B.A. in Biomedical Sciences
B.A. in Psychology

New York University,
Masters in Neuroscience

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Easton, CT, 01/15 - 07/16
Three girls, ages 8, 12 and 15

Babysitter
Woodside, NY, 07/16 - 08/16
One boy, 4 months

Professional Experience

Senior Citizen Caretaker
Dededo, GU, 08/08 - 06/09

Internal Medicine Resident
New Hyde Park, NY, 01/15 - 01/16

About me

I am an enthusiast and a lover of the outdoors. After being born and spending seven years in the Micronesian archipelago of Palau, I moved with my family to Guam. There, I developed an even stronger interest and passion for the environment as well as outdoor activities. From Guam, I moved to Texas to graduate high school and continue my academic career. I graduated from Texas A&M with Bachelor degrees in Biomedical Sciences and Psychology, and then moved to New York City to obtain my Masters in Neuroscience from New York University.

I took the first steps of my medical career in the Long Island Jewish Hospital, where working as a surgeon assistant, I provided care and attention to patients, and assisted in critical neurological operations. However, as I dove deeper into the medical space, I realized that my true passion was not within the walls of the hospital, but in the academic, physical and health development of children. Following this change of passion, I left the hospital to join a family in Connecticut and act as a nanny for their three young girls – ages 8, 13, 15, for whom I cared for over a year and a half. Throughout my stay with the family I was always delighted to be a participant and witness of the achievements and successes of the girls both, at school and at home. My successful and enriching experiences thus far in the field of childcare have taken me to seek further opportunities, and I would be delighted to continue playing an active role in the development and growth of New York City families.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I am not babysitting I am usually exploring the little-known corners of New York City, enjoying a hike upstate, or rolling out my yoga mat. Additionally, I am also a great enthusiast of photography, so few are the times that I can be found without my camera by my side. When time allows, I also never lose the chance to keep learning and expanding my skills, so I can be found joining courses or programs of interest and use, such as the EMT certification I obtained this past May.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years I would like to be standing in front of a class full of high school students, ready to teach History. My passion is to influence and play a positive role in the future of children. But as of right now, my goal is to focus on the development of a family’s children and contribute to their growth as part of the family.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I would like share my enthusiasm with the outdoors with the children I care for, together with the thirst of knowledge that has always been part of my character. I would also be delighted to share my passion for sports, music and the arts by being a person the children can count on, and who will always support them when it comes to trying new things and stepping outside their comfort zone.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.