For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Danielle S.

Education

Syracuse University,
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Musical Theater

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/16 - 06/17
Two girls, ages 10 and 12

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 04/17 - Present
Girl, age 5 Boy, age 18 months

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/14 - 03/15
Boy, age 9, and occasionally girl, age 5

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/15 - 04/16
Girl, age 10

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/16 - 09/16
Girl, age 10

Professional Experience

Summer Theater Counselor
Southington, CT, 05/10 - 08/13

Ticketing Assistant
Syracuse, NY, 10/11 - 01/14

Administrative Assistant
New York, NY, 01/14 - 05/14

Tea Guide
New York, NY, 10/14 - 04/16

Dog Walker
New York, NY, 06/16 - Present

About me

While growing up, I had the opportunity to be a part of a wonderful summer theater program that encouraged a love for all things theater in me. When I entered college, I was asked to work for that program, as the Education Coordinator, and I was officially hooked. I loved teaching and playing games with the campers, and seeing the love of theater the program fostered in me grow in them. After moving to the city two years ago, I've been lucky enough to work for a number of really wonderful families. I think it is important to create a safe and supportive environment for the kids I sit for that allows a lot of room for fun! I am always amazed by how much I learn from every child I babysit for, and I love knowing that I can be another positive influence in their life.

I'm a big reader and a big crafter, and I love to share those skills with the kids I babysit for. I've been a vegetarian for about 5 years and have experience and am comfortable with a multitude of food allergies and restrictions, all of which I keep in mind as I cook for or with the kids I babysit. I love all kinds of games and believe in the benefits of an active lifestyle; something I really encourage in the time children and I spend together.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not babysitting, I'm usually seeing theater, taking dance or voice classes, taking trips to the library and reading, crafting, knitting, baking or cooking, or taking fitness classes. I love exploring different sections of the city that are new to me, and visiting museums and parks. I love to soak up everything NYC has to offer!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Still living in and loving New York City, working in theater in some creative capacity, and to still be involved babysitting for some great kids and families!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I absolutely love playing theater games with kids! There's nothing better than being silly and having fun, and yet learning something in the process! I'm also a huge fan of crafting. Art projects are my absolute favorite, from coloring and drawing to knitting. I also think it's a lot of fun to bake and cook together!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.