For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Ryan K.

Education

University of Massachusetts Amherst,
B.A. in English

Bridgewater State University,
Master's in Elementary Education

Childcare Experience

Camp Counselor
Chestnut Hill, MA, 06/13 - 08/15
Boys and girls, ages 7-11

Camp Counselor
Foxborough, MA, 06/16 - 07/16
Boys, ages 11-14

Professional Experience

Student Teacher
Milton, MA, 09/15 - 12/15

Substitute Teacher
Sharon, MA, 09/14 - 02/16

Private Tutor
Sharon/West Bridgewater, MA, 01/15 - 06/16

Educational Assistant
Foxborough, MA, 02/16 - 06/16

About me

As long as I can remember, I have loved working with kids. Maybe it's because I am the oldest in my family, with two younger siblings and four younger cousins, or maybe it's because I have teachers in my family dating back generations. Whatever the reason may be, I began babysitting at age 16 and never considered another career. Throughout my years as a child care provider, I have worked as a camp counselor, private tutor, and teacher. Last fall, I finished a Master's degree in Elementary Education, and I moved to NYC to use my skills to assist a great family.

My philosophy on childcare is simple: kids thrive when they are given love and respect, and they deserve nothing less. I don't believe in negative reinforcement; I believe every child is a unique puzzle, and I see my job as getting to know the intricacies of that puzzle and figuring out the best way to help a given child learn. I am known for having unlimited patience and being very flexible and easy-going. When I work with children, I create safe, nurturing learning environments that allow kids to ask questions about the world and explore them through real-life experience and play.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Playing music or reading a good book! I am a life-long musician who has played the drums for 18 years, the bass for 12, the guitar for 10, and the piano for 6. I sing as well, and I love writing and recording original music. I am also an avid reader who is known for taking home more books from the library than I can carry. I exercise every day and love getting outside to explore the city.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In a long-term position with a great family! I want to find a family that I can commit to and begin to put down roots in the city. I also hope to be married and considering having kids of my own.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love sharing music in any form with kids, whether it's singing, dancing, playing instruments, or just listening. I am also a big reading and writing advocate, and I love sharing great stories with kids. No one is ever too old to be read to, and reading together is even more fun. I also like to encourage kids to use their creativity to create their own stories, whether they're writing them down, filming them, turning them into a song, or acting them out. I love a good game; cards, board games, sports, or even something as simple as hide and seek or I Spy.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.