For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Sara S.

Education

New York University,
Classes in Spanish and Music

Hunter College,
B.A. in Spanish Language and Literature
B.A. in Music Theory and Performance

University of Massachusetts, Boston,
Graduate Certificate in Spanish>English translation

Childcare Experience

Nanny
New York, NY, 01/99 - 09/07
1 infant girl, 1 newborn girl, 1 newborn boy

Babysitter and Homework helper
New York, NY, 09/08 - 05/11
2 Girls, age 9 and 7; Boy, age 5

Part-time Nanny
New York, NY, 09/12 - 06/16
Girl 15 months; Boy 15 months

Full-time Travel Nanny
New York; Los Angeles, NY; CA, 09/14 - 10/15
Girl, 15 months; (occasionally also Girl, age 11 and 2 Boys, age 12 and 15)

Professional Experience

Office Manager at Alternative Medicine office
New York, NY, 05/08 - 06/13

Professional Church Singer
New York, NY, 09/10 - 05/14

Freelance Spanish and Music tutor
New York, NY, 01/10 - 05/16

About me

When I was 10, my baby sister was born and I had the honor of helping my mom care for her and watching her grow up. She is now 25, married, and the mother of a baby girl. She's all grown up, but she'll always be my baby sister! Maybe that was what inspired me to become a childcare provider. I have cared for children of all ages, newborn to teen. This May, my longest-term charge will graduate from high school! And I can still remember her when she was 4 months old.

I click with kids and I really enjoy their company. On the one hand, I can be silly and imaginative with them, and on the other hand, I talk to them like the intelligent people they are (whether they are 2 or 13). I like to provide language and music enrichment and actively play with kids, but I also believe in giving them downtime for independent play and reflection.

My other passions are language and music. Luckily these go really well with the childcare field! I've lived in NYC for many years and during this time, I have studied Spanish, Music, and a little German and Italian. I have been a church and choral singer, tutored Spanish and music students, and done office/personal assistant work. More recently, I studied Spanish>English translation. I know the city very well, having lived in Manhattan, Brooklyn, and Queens.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers

I will be SmartSitting while...

Rock climbing, working on my translation and editing/proofing skills, trying recipes like black bean cupcakes.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Going out to dinner with the children I've cared for that are now in high school (and will be in college), and offering them guidance and life advice. Working as a translator and Spanish tutor.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Singing and musicianship, piano, ASL, Spanish, arts & crafts, reading, swimming, rock climbing.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.