For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Laura O.

Education

Ohio University,
BFA in Theater Performance

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 09/16 - Present
1 boy, age 1

Part-Time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 09/16 - Present
1 boy, age 4 months

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 08/16 - Present
1 girl, 2 boys ages 3,5,9

Evening Babysitter
Manhattan, NY, 09/16 - Present
1 boy, 2 girls ages: 3,5,9

Part-Time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 06/13 - 08/13
3 girls, triplets age 1 1/2

Evening Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 03/13 - 09/13
1 boy, age 1

Part Time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 01/12 - 09/14
1 girl, age 1

Professional Experience

Server
Manhattan, NY, 09/14 - 08/16

Server
Manhattan, NY, 09/13 - 09/14

Server
Brooklyn, NY, 01/13 - 09/13

Server
Brooklyn, NY, 09/12 - 01/13

Landscaper
All Over, NY, 07/16 - Present

Server
Greenpoint, NY, 08/16 - Present

Cocktail Waiter
West Village, NY, 10/16 - Present

About me

I am an actor originally from Ohio, and I have been living in Brooklyn for several years. I love living in the City because of the diversity and all of the different kinds of people you meet. I feel like I'm meeting someone interesting every day! I've been lucky enough to gain a solid community of friends who inspire me to become a better artist daily, and I feel like becoming a better artist means making sure you are happy.

For a lot of my time in New York, I was working as a server. I have worked at several well known restaurants and because of that experience, I feel as though I have gained patience, the ability to multi-task, and an attention to detail that I did not have before. After so many years, I began to see that while it is a great way to make money and survive in the city, I wasn't as happy as I was when I did other types of jobs. I started to babysit more and more, and realized that while it is a job for me to survive in the city, it didn't feel like surviving -- I was actually having fun! That's when I decided to make the commitment to childcare. When I realized how much I liked teaching and helping children grow into better people and that they were actually teaching me too, it all made sense! Now, I've gathered a lot of experience from many different families in the area, and I can honestly say that I am a better artist because of it all.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not babysitting, I'm usually working on my art, catching up with friends, or spending time with my partner. I love to spend time around other people, explore different places in the city or just be able to view all of the excellent art we have!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years I hope to be a working actor with many plants and much happiness!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I absolutely love to play theater games! I'm also big on crafts and storytelling. I find that kids trust you more when they are able to express themselves. It becomes an easier, happier day if you listen to what they want and work towards compromises. I love to get them up and going whether that be to the park or if it's a rainy day finding other games to jump start their mind. I get a lot of joy out of teaching them what I know, but realize that I'm not always right. On more than one occasion, I have had a child show me something I didn't know, which is always pretty cool.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.