For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Michael L.

Education

Montclair State University,
BFA Musical Theatre

Childcare Experience

Camp Counselor
Voorhees, NJ, 06/04 - 08/06
Kids, ages 6-14

Director of Elf Jr.
Ocean City, NJ, 10/16 - 12/15
Children, ages 6-13

After-School/ Part-Time Sitter
New York, NY, 09/14 - Present
One girl, age 9

New York Kids Club Coach/Instructor
New York, NY, 04/11 - 05/15
Kids, 6 months to age 12

Professional Experience

Professional Actor
Various Theatres, Various, 06/08 - Present

About me

Originally from southern New Jersey, I have called New York City home for many years. I graduated from Montclair State University with my BFA in Musical Theatre. While I am home in the city, I like to supplement my income with babysitting. I'm a big kid at heart so I find I have the right temperament for working with children; a strong balance of friendly fun mixed with reliability, responsibility, and a big dash of patience.

I began working with children during high school as a camp counselor at a local theatre company for three summers. Upon moving to NYC, I became a coach/instructor for New York Kids Club. For over four years, I taught everything from gymnastics to rock climbing to art, as well as hosted countless birthday parties. While working for NYKC, I coached children as young as six months old to bigger kids who were twelve. For three wonderful years, I have been the after-school babysitter for a now nine-year-old girl. I love seeing how children grow and develop into themselves. It's both fun and extremely rewarding to play a small part in that process.

When I'm not performing in a show or babysitting, you can find me reading a good book (Harry Potter is one of my favorites) or watching a great tv show. I have a passion for fitness and like to lead a healthy, active lifestyle. I grew up playing soccer and still love to play today. Cooking is one of my greatest passions. I love to get in the kitchen and make something delicious! I am an artist and love to draw and paint. I hope to share my hobbies with your kids and look forward to learning what they love to do!

In a nutshell, I'm a self proclaimed "serious goofball". By that, I mean that I am good balance of serious care giver and fun babysitter. I am reliable, punctual, and very communicative.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen

I will be SmartSitting while...

Auditioning, working out, watching Disney movies, sketching, drinking coffee, seeing theatre, hanging out with my friends, cooking, reading, etc.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Established in my career. I will be married and still living in New York City!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Arts and crafts, drawing, cooking, reading music/ playing piano, gymnastics, dancing, singing, theatre, playing soccer and other sports, board games, reading, and using our imaginations!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.