For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Olivia S.

Education

Haverford College,
B.A. in Spanish and Comparative Literature

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 11/13 - Present
Twins, a few months old at start

Evening and Weekend Sitter
Brooklyn, NY, 03/13 - Present
Two boys and a girl, ages 3, 5, and 7

After-School Sitter
Brooklyn, NY, 02/13 - 02/14
A girl and a boy, ages 9 and 11

After-School Sitter
Brooklyn, NY, 09/13 - 02/14
Girl, age 6

Occasional Sitter
Haverford, PA, 09/10 - 05/12
Girl, age 3

Evening and Weekend Sitter
Newton, MA, 09/05 - 05/08
Two boys and a girl, ages 1, 3, and 5

Professional Experience

Editorial Assistant, Children's Publishing
New York, NY, 02/13 - 10/16

Children's Bookseller
Maplewood, NJ, 10/12 - 06/13

Children's Bookseller
Haverford, PA, 09/08 - 07/12

About me

I've always loved working with kids, and I have over ten years of experience. It is exciting and important work, and I also think it's good fun.

As a sitter, I do my best to treat children and their families with respect. I try to never talk down to kids, and instead to encourage curiosity and creativity. I enjoy active play; a nature walk in the park, making paper snowflakes, building a pillow fort--these are the types of activities I'm excited to share with kids. I'm also not afraid to be silly. I've worked with all ages of children, from infants to teens, and I do my best to walk the line between firm and playful. I do believe in setting rules and guidelines--and sticking to them--but I also think reason works better than discipline. I'm the type of sitter that's patient enough to wait out a tantrum, and will always do my best to teach respectful behavior.

I've been a pescatarian since I was in fifth grade, so I am willing and able to accommodate dietary restrictions. In my free time I design and sew quilts and clothing, and am always up for a craft project. I love swimming and skiing, and enjoy taking yoga and salsa classes. I’m also fluent in Spanish, and have babysat for two different families where I spoke exclusively in Spanish to the children.

I have spent five years working as a children's bookseller, and three years working in children's publishing, and I love reading and sharing my passion for books with kids. One of the reasons I am passionate about children's literature is I believe it has the power to teach empathy, and to help children become creative and ethical adults. I think a good sitter has that same ability.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Reading, working on a sewing project, visiting with friends, trying out a new recipe, or biking around the park.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A children's book editor.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love all things crafty! I'm always excited to try a new project with kids, and I have a couple favorites including drawing monsters, and making holiday decorations. I'm also a big lover of books. I enjoy reading with kids and recommending them stories I think they'll like.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.