For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Jahmekya B.

Education

Sarah Lawrence College.,
Bachelor of Liberal Arts.

Childcare Experience

Part- Time Babysitter
Bronxville, NY, 09/14 - 06/15
Two girls, ages 4 and 6, and One boy 4 months old.

Part-Time Babysitter
Culver City, CA, 06/07 - 08/12
One girl, age 4.

Professional Experience

Uplifters Kitchen, Barista
Santa Monica, CA, 06/15 - 10/15

Fund for Sarah Lawrence College, Fundraiser
Bronxville, NY, 09/11 - 06/15

Barista
Vancouver, Canada, 10/15 - 10/16

About me

For as long as I can remember I have been surrounded by children in some form, whether it be as the oldest sibling or as a babysitter. There is a genuine sense of joy that I feel when I'm around children, watching as their minds take in the world around them. I have felt for a long time that my interactions with children have molded me into the woman I am today. As I look at the way they engage with life, I then reflect on how I can interact with the world in a fruitful manner and keep the inquisitive nature in me that I believe young minds have.

As a detailed oriented and creative person, I've found that when working with children I'm able to both tap into my own interests and discover new ways of learning. I enjoy working in environments in which I can grow to anticipate needs before they arrive, which I think is key when working with children. Whether it be reading books, teaching a new recipe or working on an art project, I approach new learning experiences with great care and patience in order to cultivate the growth best suited for each child. As a fun-loving person, I thrive in positive environments, and I find working with people satisfying and aim to serve to the very best of my ability. For these reasons, my outgoing nature and my excellent childcare abilities would make me an apt nanny or babysitter.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I’m not babysitting I’m usually sitting in a cafe reading a book, while having a nice cup of coffee or tea. I love to go to museums to get inspiration for my own printmaking and photography work. I also love to cook and host bi-weekly dinner parties at my house on Mondays.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In the next 5 years, I hope to be working at a CSA, as a Youth Program organizer, to educate a wide range of youth on the importance of reconnecting with the food we eat. Additionally, I hope to be be making valuable art and showing it in locally at medium scale social justice oriented dinner parties that I will host.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to teach children how to cook simple meals as a way to help build a healthy relationship to our food system, because I believe that a connection to food is key for a sustainable future.I also love to play outside, to go for walks, to read books and to create art projects for the kids and to dance.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.