Elizabeth B.


The King's College, NY, B.A. in Politics, Philosophy, and Economics

Childcare Experience

Part-time Babysitter
New York, NY, 03/13 - 06/13
Girl, 6 months old

Daycare Teacher, Full-Time
Lubbock, TX, 09/11 - 08/12
8 to 14 children, age 20-24 months

Part-time Childcare Worker
New York, NY, 09/10 - 05/11
6 to 10 children, ages 1-2

Part-time Childcare Worker and Teaching Assistant
Lubbock, TX, 07/06 - 08/08
6-10 children, ages 4-5

Part-time Babysitter / Full-time Vacation Nanny
Lubbock, TX, 06/09 - 08/10
Two boys and a girl, ages 7, 9, and 11

Professional Experience

Assistant to Human Resources
New York, NY, 06/13 - 06/14

Editorial and Marketing Intern
Bedford, TX, 09/13 - 12/14

Office Clerk
Lubbock, TX, 05/09 - 08/12

About Me

I am a recent graduate of Politics, Philosophy, and Economics with a minor in Media Studies at the King’s College. In school, I played with the Ugly Bunnies, an improv comedy troupe at my school. This past summer, I experienced the honor and joy of marrying the best guy and law student that I know. I aspire to be a personal essayist and a writer of fiction, including stories for children.

I have worked as a babysitter of children of all ages for twelve years. Previous to the start of the 2012-2013 school year, I spent a year working as a teacher for eight to fifteen toddlers between the ages of twenty to twenty-four months at a daycare. I have served as a Sunday school teacher at a variety of churches. As a former homeschooler myself, I have also worked as a caregiver assisting with homeschooling.

When working with children, I am a strong user and advocate of positive reinforcement. I believe that boundaries are important, but that it is equally vital to emphasis boundaries and doing good through encouragement, praising a child for sharing or listening, and telling them what a good helper they are becoming. I am committed to encouraging creativity and excellence in children in a fun way while providing an atmosphere of safety and calm.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Preschoolers, School-aged (K-5), Preteen, Multiples (more than 2 children of the same age group)

I will be SmartSitting while…

I enjoy jogging, writing, drinking buckets of tea over lively conversation with friends, and reading classic literature of the likes of E. Nesbit, C.S. Lewis, and George MacDonald. I devote time each day to keeping house and slowly turning our new apartment into a home. I also enjoy long talks on the patio, and movie nights with my husband.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

In five years, I hope to have finished a novel or two and perhaps have a little one of my own!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I have helped homeschool children of a variety of ages, from preschool to preteen. During the year that I taught at a daycare, I lead the weekly song time for all of the children from 20 months to 5 years old. I am proficient in the art of pretend and imagination games, although I am terrible at chess. I love the pure, unadulterated imagination that comes pouring out of children. Defeating a dragon by feeding it frozen apple juice and weekly tea times with some very dignified young ladies are among my fondest memories.