Ian S.


Drew University,
B.A. in Theatre Arts, Cum Laude

Childcare Experience

Family Assistant / Nanny
New York, NY, 11/13 - 11/14
Two boys, 8 and 11, one girl, 13

Part-time Babysitter
Summit, NJ, 04/11 - 05/13
Boy, age 10; girl, age 8

After School Teaching Artist
Newark, NJ, 02/13 - 05/13
Children, ages 14-18

Education Intern
Morristown, NJ, 02/13 - 05/13
Children, ages 6-13

Assistant Director, Young Performers Workshop
Hackettstown, NJ, 07/10 - 08/10
Children, ages 8-18

Professional Experience

Freelance Theatre Artist
New York, NY 05/12 - Present

Artistic Associate, The Exchange NYC
New York, NY 08/13 - 02/14

Waitstaff, Sterling Affair Catering
New York, NY 06/12 - 01/14

Ambassador Coordinator, Drew University Admissions
Madison, NJ 03/12 - 05/13

About Me

Growing up in a single mother household, I learned the value of family. After the death of my father, our family grew very close. Being one of four siblings, I was always given the chance to discover my sense of self with the support of an incredible family. My family has taught me everything I know: to stand up for myself, to ask for help, to take risks, to learn from mistakes, and to never give up on a dream.

I have brought that fun, supportive energy to every facet of my life. Whether it be teaching Newark high school students about theatre, singing a cappella at elementary schools, or teaching tap dance to young artists at the Young Performers Workshop, I want to work with children because I believe they have the greatest capacity to teach us about ourselves. Children inspire me to be a better performer, brother, and person. I have always said I want to be a kid when I grow up. What I mean to say is, I want to maintain that childlike sense of wonder and discovery which we often lose sight of as adults. I believe childcare should make children feel like anything is possible if they are given the opportunity to challenge themselves.

I just have come off a one-year contract with a fantastic three-child family on the Upper West Side. I am currently looking for more temporary work that allows me to better maintain a balance between babysitting and my creative life.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Preschoolers, School-aged (K-5), Preteen, Teenagers, Multiples (more than 2 children of the same age group)

I will be SmartSitting while…

Making theatre, seeing shows, playing volleyball, and adventuring around the city.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Devising, creating, and producing theatre with a small ensemble of artists as well as being a teaching artist to young performers!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I love cooking, beatboxing, singing, dancing, playing volleyball, basketball, football, soccer, baseball, playing with Legos, drawing, and arts and crafts!